My very first crop…..

Standard

It’s been a very busy week and a weekend packed full of new things.

First I did my first ATC – I can’t show you.  It has to go half way round the world before it arrives and I can hardly share it before it’s been received can I?

My big first was my first ever crop on my first ever National Scrapbooking Day. When I joined The DT team at Scrapbookers Anonymous, I got an e-mail from fellow DT member Deb Hickman – who happens to live not far from me and she invited me to the Bromsgrove Crop this Saturday.

Deb set us three challenges.  The first was to use this sketch from  Page Maps:

It’s a really good way of using up your scraps.  In my case I used a 6X6 pad which usually only gets brought out once a year for Easter cards.  Here’s my LO:


I cut birds from the paper pad used punched circles and pop dots to make my own co-ordinating embellishments.

The second challenge was to scrap a scrapbook related photo or a photo of yourself and why you ‘love to scrapbook’ in honour of National Scrapbooking Day.  I never new there was such a thing!  Here’s my scrapbooking LO:

I had this photo of Puddle Duck from her reception class, completing the teddy’s journal.  Every week one child in each class receives the gold star.  Reception Class also get the teddy to take home and have to complete his journal.  (Great – my daughter gets the gold star and Mom gets homework!)  Puddle Duck had her gold star the first week back after Christmas for painting a wonderful picture of a snowman.

I’m sure this is a Shimelle scraplift but I’m not sure which LO – it must be etched deep within my subconcious.  I made embellishments by cutting trees from the Echo Park Springtime papers, some clothes labels and red ribbon.

The third challenge was a scraplift of one of Liberty Chance’s LO’s.

Libby’s LO
Here’s mine:
I’m really not sure about these papers with this photo, but they are what happened to be on the table from the sketch challenge and I only had twenty minutes.  (And I’ve just realised I have a bit of a spotty thing going on!)  I actually did it in 10 – never knew I could be such a speedy scrapper.
And the reason I had so little time left?  Well that’s because I actually did four layouts (first time I’ve done that many in one day), learnt how to set eyelets with my Cropodile and used glimmer mist for the first time.  But I’ll save that to share for another post.
Don’t forget to check out this month’s challenge over at Scrapbookers Anonymous, it’s all about using your stamps.
6 responses »

  1. I’m a little late, but happy National Scrapbook day. I was cropping with Lea. we had a great time. Great job on all those challenges and how fun you and Deb met up.
    =)

  2. Love your layouts! Well done!
    I remember the layout with the four 6×6 background as well! Wasn’t it part of Shimelle’s “Something from almost nothing”?! But she used it afterwards again I think. Such a simple but effective way to make your own PP-background! xxx

  3. Hi Julie it was lovely to have you at the crop! We hope we’ll see you again. Thanks for taking part in the challenges, and your finished layouts are lovely! See you in June hopefully 🙂

  4. I LOVE these layouts, Julie!!!! They are awesome!!! I was celebrating NSD at the Great Lakes Mega Meet in Novi Michigan – big trip for me, I met my friend Colleen there from Windsor Ontario. Would love to get together with some of you girls sometime!!!

    Anne Pennington

Leave a Reply

