The June Challenge at Scrapbookers Anonymous

Standard

Wednesday is a very busy day in blog land.  It’s taken me ages to get through all of todays posts from my subscribed list.  So long in fact that I finished a rather generous glass of Merlot (hic!).  So apologies to anyone who received what may be described as a random comment – you were obvs near the end of the glass (double hic!).

Before I tell you about the June challenge at Scrapbookers Anonymous, let me indulge in a small woohoo moment.  First, this LO was added to the featured LOs at Soul Scrappers (thank-you ladies) and Shimelle included my LO from last week’s sketch of the month here along with Karen, Daphne and Sian  (can you spot mine?). Shimelle also raised £1200 yesterday for UK-Plan, a charity which makes a big difference to girls’ lives.  You can read more on her blog and there’s a link for you to make a donation.  Can I hear a big cheer for Shimelle and all the Shimellettes who bought a Shimelle on-line course for a good cause?

So, what about Scrapbookers Anonymous June challenge?  This month the challenge is to use at least three sheets from a book of 6 X 6 or 8 X 8 papers.  I have a few pads, I use a few, but these little beauties come out once a year (if that) for easter cards and then are hardly used.

To be honest I don’t know why I bought them.  But, a challenge needs to be challenging, right?  You may remember this from last month’s crop, but I wanted to do something a little less obvious, so I picked out these papers…

….because blue and brown is a new colour combination for me.  And I found this inspiration in an old copy of Simple Scrapbooks

As an aside, as I was leafing through I was reminded of Amy’s simple graphic style of scrapping and then she mentioned the same publication on her blog.  Spooky.  There must be some secret psychic scrappy link going on somewhere.

Anyhow, I digress.  I liked the stitching on this, so I picked some cardstock and stitched a grid.  I don’t have a heart punch, so I settled for squares (I could get more butterflies in that way too) and printed off some B&W photos of the family.  I stitched circles on three of the paper squares, a spray of glimmer mist in blue and bronze, birds and butterflies clipped from the pad for dimension and some yellow recycled alphas from K&Co (I discovered I don’t have any blue the right shade) and we’re done.

And the question mark?  We discovered yesterday that No. 2 Cousin will be another boy.  Puddle Duck is quite pleased – she says she won’t have to share her toys!

By the time I’d finished cutting out all those butterflies I was thinking I wouldn’t want to see another one for a while, but I’m over it now.

I’m part way through another (very different) LO using these papers:

I’ll share that and the cards from the scraps when they’re done, but don’t forget to go over to Scrapbookers Anonymous to see the wonderful LOs from the rest of the Design Team and join in the fun.  There’s prizes y’know.

8 responses »

  1. you did such a wonderful job on this month’s challenge. I love the colors and all the butterflies… the grid patter is awesome too.
    congrats on the featured layouts. you deserve it. =)

  2. I soooooooooooooo love love love love this!! I am going to have to lift that design!! Soooooooooooo AWESOME!!! LOVE IT! :):):):):):):):):):):):)

  3. I’ve got that ‘spring line’ by papermania too, and yes, most of my pack is still unused! Love how you’ve turned it into a fabulous layout, it looks so brilliant with all the butterflies floating across it. I would never think of doing this to a smaller paper pack – thanks for the inspiration! x

  4. Yes, the blue-brown color combo is very popular right now. Great job using it on your layout, and I love the little pops of yellow!

Leave a comment