Pirates Ahoy!

Standard

I had planned that this post would be the third and final post from this month’s crop, but rain started play – I couldn’t cut the grass in the rain and things weren’t desperate enough to start ironing!  So I got out my Soul Scrapper’s Quest pack of goodies and finally scrapped some photos of Puddle Duck’s birthday party.

Soul Scrappers is a wonderful site.  I found it last year when Scrappy Sandi was getting people to join Glee Club (more on that another time).  There are always new challenges popping up and there’s a lovely bunch of ladies who always leave such encouraging comments.  It’s the only site I’ve actually won anything and they have been kind enough to feature some of my layouts.  It’s also really easy to navigate.

The Souls Scrappers Quest is run periodically and you have to be quick to be signed up.  The idea is that you are all sent the same pack of goodies to use in your LO.  This is the second time I have joined in and it is a challenge to me because I don’t usually use piles of embellishments.

I showed you my pack here and this is the points system Karen is using this time round:

Puddle Duck’s party was fab, but I was so busy being Captain Mommy and trying to keep 30+ kids in check that my good friend Beth took the photos for me.  I chose three taken outside when we took the kids for a run round while the table was being laid.  They are so full of energy I had to go for a LO which wasn’t based on straight lines.

This is the fourth time I’ve stretched this sketch from Jen Gallacher.  This time I took the central strip right out to the left side to allow space for the title and all those embellishments.

Can you spot everything from the list?  I’ve used a lot of Tom Holt’s distress ink in vintage photo to ‘age’ them.

The two stamped images have been cut out and inked and layered with the inked tag and an inked circle cut from the square of pp.  The sprockets are inked and layered on an inked circle.  The brad is holding the Pirates of the Caribbean tag in place (this came from a dressing up costume).  The wood cutout I inked (if it didn’t move I inked it – I was in that kind of mood) and stuck on a ship’s wheel sticker.  I then folded back the tabs and stuck the embellishment on with pop dots in the middle of the clustered embellies.  The strip of pp was cut in half lengthwise.  One half was used to cover the ends of the photos and the other scalloped and adhered down the LHS.  The twine I stuck on over the grey lace using a couple of pirate coin stickers.  I layered the star on top of the inked metal circle tag and stuck it on the RHS with the photos.  The blue lace under the top photo was cut from the square pp and then inked.

The grey paper is from Basic Grey and the titles and text sticker are Rusty Pickle.  I had a lot of fun with this.  It’s not my usual style but I like it and even my Mother has said it’s a good one.  Thanks to Karen Findlay for the challenge and Beth Robinson for the photos.

What did you do this wet weekend?

6 responses »

  1. I loveeeeeeeeeeeee this! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the photos and loving the gears! :):):):):):):):):):):):)

Leave a Reply

