St Chad’s Spiders Web

Standard

I have been scrapping outside my comfort zone this week.  First was the first challenge from a brand new site – Simple Aussie Girls.

I like this style of scrapping, but it’s not what I normally do myself.  You can count the number of digital scrapbook pages I’ve done on one hand.  I stuck to the template, but I struggled a bit – I haven’t used PSE that much and I’m still getting used to it.

I think the busy, bright photos need that white background.  Somehow arranging four photos and typing some text doesn’t quite feel like scrapbooking to me.  But I can see the appeal – especially from a time point of view and I’ll definitely be trying it again.  Perhaps next time I’ll be a bit more adventurous and change the background or use some digital pp.

I’ve also gone out of my comfort zone in the opposite direction, but you’ll have to wait until next month to see that!

13 responses »

  1. It’s a great page, and a great way to get started. I’ve never gotten really comfortable with digital scrapping even though I have many files of digital materials. The Aussie Girls are inspiring me, however!

  2. Thanks for taking part in our first challenge and trying something new. I usually print my page out then add some letter stickers to it…I do like a bit of texture 🙂 I love how this hobby lets us find people all over the world who’s lives are so different from our own. My girls would love the maypole!
    Diane H

  3. Julie, you have done a great job! As you will have noticed, most of the other girls on the blog certainly use patterned paper, brads and some embellishments – there is always scope for a little ‘extra’ if you want to use it! The white background works well with your photo – a great choice!

  4. I loveeeeeeeeeeee this!!! I love love love the photo placement and the way you journaled! :):):):):):):):):):):):)

  5. Yes, you can always add ‘things’ to the layout once it is printed if you want it to feel more like traditional scrapbooking. I, however, love it how it is – classic, sophisticated and timeless. Do a collection of layouts like this, and imagine them in a hardcover photobook – gorgeous reading for future generations. I love this.

  6. You sound like me! I have done a couple of digi pages, both with a white background like this. It looks so fresh, doesn’t it? This one is beautiful – looks like a page from a magazine to me

  7. this digi page is fantastic. It gets easier and once you learn more techniques, it can be a lot of fun to play around with. I like to dabble here and there. can’t wait to see what else you create.
    =)

Leave a Reply

