Monochrome Scrapping – Scrapbookers Anonymous July Challenge

Standard

The July challenge at Scrapbookers Anonymous is now live and this month’s challenge is designed to really bite into those unused elements of your stash.  This month we want you to scrap in your least used colour.  Keep it pretty monochrome with just a splash of a second colour.

I thought this would be difficult because I consider myself to be a rainbow scrapper – there’s no colour I particularly shy away from or use to excess.  I asked Puddle Duck.  ‘Brown’ she said.  ‘No, I’ve used that in’ and reeled off a list of projects.  ‘Black and white, you only ever use that for weddings’, she replied ‘or orange’.  ‘Not true’, I said, but I thought some research was required.

So I went through my albums and created a spreadsheet giving a perecentage for the colours used in each LO.  The result?  Black.  Most definitely and resoundingly Black.  The nearest colour was grey and I use that twice as much.

I’m not sure black actually counts as a colour, but nevertheless I gathered together some black supplies and began making rosettes from black ribbon.

I decided to make a textured base paper using black cardstock and the heart diecut sheet.  A page of black hearts – so there was no alternative – it had to be a photo from the The Aunt and The Uncle’s wedding.  I asked The Aunt to send me a copy of her favourite photo from the day and went back to the principles in the very first 4X6 Photo Love tutorial.

This is way more embellishment than I normally use, but The Aunt likes it.  They lost their wedding album when they moved house last year so hopefully this will be the first page completed for a replacement.

The title is a couple of Heidi Swapp stamps, fussy cut and then clustered with ribbon and a wedding dress cut and embossed on core-dinations cardstock and sanded to reveal the black core.  The rosettes have buttons sewn in the centre and there is a liberal sprinkling of butterflies.

Those little black tear drops sewn to the rosettes, I saved from Puddle Duck’s bouquet.  She was the cutest flower girl, but more on that another time.  I hope you’ll play along with us this month at Scrapbookers Anonymous.  What’s your least used colour?

9 responses »

  1. this is really beautiful Julie. I love it. very stunning. the way you worked in all those elements is wonderful. it will definitely be cherished. =)
    have a great day!!

  2. Hey Julie… 1st i’m sorry… I totally miss your blog!! always missed it… I will try to come by here more often… and thank you so much…for always leaving me sweet comments at my blog… I totally appreciate it… I have linked your blog to mine… Hopefully I’d do better….

    Your layout is beautiful… my fave monochrome colots is actually BLACK…I almost choose this… but last minute changed my frickle mind!!!… Yours totally beautiful… STUNNING I must say… have a good weekend… hugs..xoxo

  3. Wow! You did it so beautiful!! Love the black!!! Thanks so much for your sweet words on my blog!!! You inspired me to create with a monochromatic black!!! and to your question, yes, I learned from this challenge that I will use more purple!!! Hugs! Yara

  4. Julie, I think your layout is stunning! You may not work with black much but you have done a wonderful job. Thank you for all your sweet and encouraging comments on my blog. I certainly appreciate them.
    Lydia

Leave a Reply

