Warning – Explore

Standard

Will you grow old gracefully, or will you wear purple and a red hat?

I first came across the poem Warning by Jenny Joseph 6 years ago. I was in a book shop looking for a fortieth birthday present for my best friend. I think it was the reference to the red hat that drew me to the book initially. The BF loves red, but has always shied away from wearing it because she says it makes her hair look green. As I read on I thought the poem suited her perfectly – she has always been prepared to be a little outrageous and I can’t imagine for one second that she would let old age stand in her way.

When I saw this month’s challenge at ARTastic I knew immediately which photo I wanted to use and the colour scheme (combined with a requirement to include a hat) reminded me of the poem.

The LO is based on a sketch courteousy of Shimelle’s Explore class.

While I was looking for the text to include on my LO, I came across this site.  I like the sound of the Red Hat Society.  Who says the fun and adventures have to stop when you reach 50?

Should I wait until I am 50 to become a Red Hatter, or should I buy a lilac outfit and a pink hat, so that I can practice a little now?

16 responses »

  1. I love your entry for the artastic challenge, using the poem was a great touch. i love the little block of hearts. Fab photo you have used too!
    cheers
    shazza

  2. Great page, love the poem,lovely picture of you in the hat, great take on this months challenge, thanks for joining in.

  3. This is the cutest LO, Julie, and what an awesome hat you have there! Love the hearts and flowers too. Thanks for playing along at ARTastic!
    Hugs, RobinJ

  4. I so have to go to this site of Shimelle’s the work coming out of their is amazing, this layout is gorgeous, I love how you did the little circles in the bottom right and put the photo in the top left. Stunning work. Melxx

  5. I love a good story Julie & yours is excellent…a splendid page, just love your colours & gorgeous red hat! Thanks for playing along at ARTastic!

Leave a Reply

