Life’s Adventures

Standard

I’m looking forward to the crop next weekend.  There wasn’t one last month and my head is buzzing with all the ideas I have for LOs.  You may remember that in May, I said that I completed five pages, but I actually only showed you 3.  Well here are the last two pages – a double LO for Shimelle’s 4X6 Photo Love.

Now you would think that a trip to Hell would be some adventure, but compared to the rest of the day it turned out to be a bit of a disappointment.  This trip was part of our family holiday last year to the Caribbean.  We were in Grand Cayman for the day and the tour started with a trip to the turtle farm in the rain (we’re British we’re used to it and I must say rain is so much nicer when it’s warm), the rum factory (where we only visited the shop, but we did get some free samples) and finally Hell.  Other than three small souvenir shops there’s not much more to it than can be seen in these photos. Still, an envelope postmarked Hell makes a pretty cool embellishment.

There were plenty other adventures on the trip, like swimming with dolphins in Cozumel,

and climbing Dunn’s River Falls in Jamaica.

So was that holiday the big adventure of my life?  No, I don’t think it was.  They are out of the ordinary places and experiences, but an adventure?  I’m not so sure.  It seems less of an adventure knowing that all I have to do to do it again is book a holiday.  In some ways I think it is because it was all too organised to qualify as an adventure.

An adventure is something new and exciting – your first day at school, the first guide camp or school trip with a night away from home.  Your first flight, your first foreign holiday. Your first day at Uni and living away from home for the first time.

My two biggest adventures – one was my choice, the other was forced upon me.  My choice was to go inter-railing on my own in Eastern Europe.  This was in 1989 when there was still an Iron Curtain and before everyone had a mobile phone to keep in touch with friends and family.  Nothing booked, a rough plan, I just went, met some interesting people and had some narrow escapes.  The book of photos is waiting to be scrapped to tell some of those stories.  And the ones when I went back to Romania after Ceaucescu had been deposed.

And the adventure that was forced upon me?  Moving a hundred miles from friends and family to start a new job and a new life.  It may not have been my choice to move but if it hadn’t happened I wouldn’t have started the best adventure of my life – being Puddle Duck’s Mother.

And here’s a last adventure LO to finish with.  Puddle Duck’s first overseas trip.

Now that’s a REAL adventure when you’re two and a half.

7 responses »

  1. WOW WOW Julie… you are on a roll eh… THey are simply fabulous and fun layouts… love them all… especially your double-pager… you rocked them… Awesome… TFS… hugs…xoxo

  2. I love your layouts – they are so colourful and full of life 🙂 What a shame Hell turned out to be such a disappointment 😦 but, I agree, it made a pretty cool embelly!! Note to self – don’t bother with Hell !!! lol

Leave a Reply

