Going Postal

Standard

I have really loved Julie Kirk’s Going Postal series. Unfortunately I only found it (thanks to Sian) towards the end and haven’t been able to create anything new. I have, however, sorted out a box which contained a box of stamps and a big pile of postcards.

< >
< >
< >
< >
< >
< >
< >

I have postcards sent to me, complete with stamps……

a collection from my political period….

and some heritage items….

…as well as the usual collection of holiday postcards.

I had a few nice surprises going through that box. There were things I had forgotten about and things I thought I had lost forever. Old letters from old friends I must catch up with.  Most prized amongst them all is my old passport, with visas from my Eastern European Inter-rail trip, which I thought I had ‘lost’ during my divorce.

There’ll be plenty of happy crafting with these items in the future. I wonder how I would have done this page if I had had those stamps and airmail stickers to hand at the time?

I don’t think I will be re-doing the page though – I like it as it is, even though my scrapping style has developed since then.  What I do want to do is find a use for those postcards.  Any ideas anyone?

For more postal inspiration check out Julie’s Going Postal Pinterest board.

6 responses »

  1. Wow! I loved your postcards! I wish I was better at saving such things in a more organized way, such as yours. These are amazing! And I think your layout is wonderful! I always do the same thing, and wonder what I would have done differently, if I were to do a layout all over again. ❤
    Thank you for your visits to my blogs. I adore your comments, and I feel like I have a supportive friend when I read them. You are a lovely person. ❤

  2. I loveeeeeeee this idea…and loving your lo too…those alphas are fab!! And sadly, I don’t have any great tips for my postcards etc…. I have them all in a drawer :):):):):):):):):):):):):)

  3. Love the lo that you did! I wouldn’t redo it! For the postale cards it might be kinda neat to make some cards for a holiday or some other special event…add embellies, maybe a little paint to them, yet leave enough of the background so you can still see what they are.

  4. Great post – I’m thrilled you found something you thought was lost!

    [Don’t worry about not creating anything new – Iit’s only the post that had to be new to play along, just so people didn’t send lots of previous blog posts].

    I’m envious of your stamp collection – mine is seriously depleted now!

    Thanks for playing along – you’re on the board again: http://pinterest.com/notesonpaper/going-postal/

    Julie 🙂

  5. Wow, it’s amazing that you already had all that stuff I’ve never saved things like that. Can’t wait to see what you create with it but don’t touch the layout. Love it as is!

Leave a Reply

