A contrast in Styles.

Standard

Forgive me Bloggers for I have sinned, it has been over 7 days since my last post and my blog reading has been sparodic. I finally got to the end of Google Reader yesterday and the last posts were 13 August! On the up side, at least you know that if I did leave you a comment it was because I genuinely loved your post!

The trouble with time out because you are busy is that you end up with a backlog of blogposts.  This one is a creative catchup and I hope that I can make it in time to catch the prize draw for Shimelle’s sketch of the week. I’ve been so busy that I missed the whole of her on-line crop. I did, however, do the kick off sketch, probably because of Julie K‘s Going Postal influence.

It took me a while to finish this – I struggled with the top and finally added the butterflies to complete it last night.

I love the strip of small B&W photos in the original and had some of London I thought I could use.   Would you believe that the big pile of postcards I found did not contain a single landscape postcard of London?  I found a photo taken on a Poll Tax demo I could use instead (you can just see Big Ben in the distance).  The journalling then became a commentary on how London changed for me over the years as I went from schoolkid to student.

I like the contrast of a stamp celebrating community policing with a photo of a Poll tax demo (although this wasn’t the big demo that ended in a riot – I had B&W film in my camera for that one).

I need more practice with paint splattering (and I really must learn to remove the page before I wipe the table – Doh!) but I like this step into a slightly grungier look.

This week’s sketch is back to my usual cleaner style and was done quickly last night.  Forgive the lack of journalling I can’t think what to write just yet.

 

The photos were taken last year when we took The Drake to the Black Country Living Museum.  He does like to show off how good he is at sports and games, but Puddle Duck doesn’t look too interested!  I have a whole new batch of photos taken last weekend at the same place and here I am still scrapping last years’.  What am I like?

The papers are Basic Grey’s Cupcake range, with Prima felt flowers (they are red and not as dark as the photo suggests), camera printables by Little Musings and jewellery bits and bobs for embellishment.  I find that cheap jewellery can add a bit of bling for a fraction of the cost of scrapbook charms.  The alphas are Echo Park Be Mine and K&Co Valentine.

I’ll be back later to introduce the Tigephant and some photos of our trips out.  Hope to see you back here again soon.

5 responses »

  1. Loved your London page! I visited my gran there as a child often, went on some of those marches as a young adult, and want to take our daughter to visit – so it resonated. Love the maps, stamps and splatters

  2. Love the London layout! The little postal accents really set it off and I like how you added the butterflies! Great pictures on the Fun and Games layout, love the embellishment clustering!

  3. I did not realize there was a “Thou shalt post every 3 or 4 days” commandment – take all the time you want between posts, we’re not going anywhere! Great layouts, love the butterflies and the postage ephemera!

Leave a Reply

