Postcards A Plenty!

Standard

And Stamps Too!

Well I finally got to use a couple of those postcards on LOs (and more stamps of course).  I was tempted to save this LO for Story Telling Sunday, but I used Shimelle’s current sketch of the week and I like how it turned out too much to wait.

I warn anyone of a squeamish disposition not to be tempted to click on the photo for the enlarged image and read the journalling.  For those brave enough to do so, you may need larger suitcases in future – you have been warned!

For anyone wondering about the props.  Barbie is sporting clothes made this week from a vintage 1970s pattern – the Fashion Police were obviously on strike during the ’70s, as evidenced by the photos.  The Guinness salt and pepper pots are in memory of Auntie Edie who used to take us to Blackpool every year with Nan and Mom.  She was a pub landlady, which explains her insider knowledge of the tricks of seaside landladies.

After pubs, she kept a fish & chip shop, which is where I lived until I was 12 months old.  Later she bought the shop next door and later still the fish & chip shop became a chinese takeway, introducing me to the delights of oriental food for the first time.  Puddle Duck loves noodles and stir fry and Wagamamas is one of our favourite places to eat after a hard day’s bargain hunting in Birmingham.

Do you remember the pile of oriental embellishments I received in the post last month?  They were used up in this LO for the Soul Scrappers Quest.

(I’ve just realised you can see one of Puddle Duck’s LOs on the stand behind this one – Oooops!)

Which is based very loosely on another Shimelle sketch of the week:


I substituted a postcard for one of the photos and it ended up being a lot busier due to the requirement to use all of the embellishments supplied.  This also left no space for journalling so I am now planning a second page focussing on journalling our love of oriental food.

I also had to include a Confucius quote on the LO.  Not only did I find a food based quote, but I also managed to find it in chinese text, which I turned into a little scroll using a chopped up chopstick.  The other chopstick is supporting the fussy cut blossoms to the left of the photo and postcard.  I hung the charms from red ribbon since this is supposed to bring wealth and good luck.  I look at it now and think I perhaps could have done some things differently, but over all I’m quite happy with it and I have another photo scrapped with a story ready to be told.

The end of the month is fast approaching but there is still time to enter the Scrapbookers Anonymous challenges.

10 responses »

  1. Hi Julie! Thanks for leaving the comment on my blog and for the advice….I love both your LOs and the pics in the first one are reminiscent of many of the ones in my mum’s photo tin!
    Alison xx

  2. You’ve been busy. I finally finished editing our friends’ photos, so now I can start on ours and there will definitely be a few more scrapbook pages in the future! Love the second sketch; great layout.

  3. Two FABULOUS pages – love the staging of the first with the brilliant salt & pepper pots! Wonderful memories documented in the first – wish I’d known that before our one night in Blackpool a couple of years ago ( the plastic under-sheets were bad enough!) – great use of stamps and buttons an layering.
    Great take on Shimelle’s sketch too – love all the clever details and your Chinese lantern string.

  4. Great layouts! Love the colors and all the embellies on the first. And the chinese goodies on the second look awesome!!! And what great pictures of Puddle Duck!

  5. Wowwy, Julie!! I love these!! 😀 You just make more and more beautiful creations as time goes by!! I’m so impressed, and inspired. Thank you so much for your visit to my blog the other day….and for your wonderful kind words and thoughts….they have meant so much to me. ❤

  6. Love both these layouts. I love the stamps and the staging of the first layout and all the little embellies on the second one. I too am a huge fan of Wagamammas…sooo good. It’s soul food!

Leave a Reply

