Busy Times

Standard

September means that the new school year is just around the corner and it’s also the month when Shimelle runs her annual Learn Something New Every Day.  It’s also the first Anniversary of Scrapbookers Anonymous.  To celebrate the usual challenges will be supplemented by a series of mini challenges with extra prizes.  A whole month long cyber crop Woohoo – I hope you’ll be able to join us.    It looks like it’s going to be a very busy month.

This month’s challenge at Scrapbookers Anonymous is to use chipboard.  I found some photos from a painting trip to the Lake District in 2002, which included some smaller prints.  I dug out an old mini album and found some sketches and painting I did during the trip.

Last month was so busy the album’s not quite finished yet so the full reveal will have to wait.  I didn’t have any time to work on it yesterday, as Puddle Duck and I hosted a kiddy crop.  Two of her class mates came round and the three of them created some amazing pages.

Puddle Duck decided she wanted to scraplift my Scrapbookers Anonymous LO from June.  I’ve never been scraplifted before!  She chose the photos and edited them herself.  Her design was very carefully planned to include an embellishment associated with each person on the page.

I suggested pp to go behind the embellishments in the non-photo squares but she was adament she wanted it as it is.

Saiorse did a lovely pink and turquoise page of her and her sister.  Love how she framed the photos with that turquoise triangle created by the sparkly thickers title and the two big flowers (which came off Puddle Duck’s old dress up grass skirt btw and it was great to see her happily get them from the scrap room when I asked her to get some things Saiorse could use).

I don’t really do many pastel pages so I’m really pleased she’s made such good use of my stash.

Rebecca has a very different taste in colours – she likes them bright and bold and she dived straight in trying Shimelle’s 4X6 Photo Love for July, which uses seven photos.

She had her Mom to help and it was quite comical with Mom trying to persuade her to choose certain papers and Rebecca being quite certain what she wanted.  Mom finally got her way at the end when Rebecca included the tiniest green butterflies on her cluster of embellishments using Mom’s favourite green paper.  If they come again, Mom is doing her own page – then she gets to pick the papers she wants!

The other six photos are hidden behind the photo on the left in a concertina, with journalling cut from a postcard.


I think these are stunning, considering that all three girls are only 7 and Saiorse and Rebecca have never done any scrapbooking before (although they both love crafts).

I think three kids who need help is just about the maximum number for this type of thing but we all enjoyed it. There’ll be another one soon for the ones who couldn’t make it yesterday and one thing is for sure – Puddle Duck will be required to bake again – her chocolate chip cookies were declared better than the ones they sell at Merry Hill!

P.S. Yesterday was also a happy mail day – my photo order arrived, followed by the parcel of scrapbooking stash (unfortunate to arrive as we finished the crop when it was to make kits for the kids!) and my embellishment from Miss Smith – wonder what I’ll do with that?

13 responses »

  1. Well, that is highly impressive – I love it! My LSS, before it shut down, used to host kids crops in each school holidays – they were very popular!

    Just catching up – your last post and how you set up the photo is just excellent!

  2. The mini looks beautiful and must have been fun to create 🙂 I LOVE that Shimelle layout design for the photo love class. The girls both made gorgeous layouts!

  3. It runs in the family then?!

    I’ve been thinking about what to do with my embellishment from Miss Smith too. It’s so pretty I want to do it justice

Leave a Reply

