50 and Changing Pace

Standard

Did anyone see Bang Goes The Theory this week? Well, late night computer use can mess up your body clock. Apparently the light from your computer screen has a higher proportion of blue light than other artificial light sources, so if you use your computer late at night your body is fooled into thinking it’s still day time. Now I am not completely convinced by this – it doesn’t fit with all the times I’ve nodded off in front of the computer at work for starters! But just in case I will be cutting back on using the computer at night, which means a steep drop in blogging activity. Pity really, since this is my 50th blog post. I’d like to invite you to join me in a game of pass the page to celebrate.  Details are at the end of this post, but first I’d just like to share my latest Shimelle inspired pages, using my Counterfeit kit (or at least trying to!).

I wanted to do the starting point challenge again this week, but the striped papers in my counterfeit kit were all part sheets – no good for a stripy background. I raided my stash and found a couple of candidates – only thing was, by the time I’d chopped up the matching sheet from the kit to make the central 10X10 square I didn’t want to add the vertical columns and cover the pattern, so the page went off in a different direction.

I raided my stash again for felt Prima flowers and some Making Memories chipboard embellishments. The photo is one I took in June when we went to Jamie’s Italian in Birmingham. And I used the badge they gave Puddle Duck as the title. In the end I only used one sheet and a scrap from the kit, so is that a double fail??

I had a bit more success using the kit with these photos from Puddle Duck’s Guide and Brownie Talent Night and Shimelle’s sketch of the week from last week.  All but three stickers are from the kit.

Although I’m not sure that success is the word. There’s obviously more to this kit counterfeiting than meets the eye. I’ve struggled to pull papers together for a page – I think I’ll approach putting the kit together a little differently next time.

So on to a game of pass the page to celebrate my half century.  For those of you who are not sure, it’s a scraplifting version of Chinese Whispers.  You receive picture(s) of a page via e-mail and take what inspiration you like to create a page of your own.  Your page is then passed to the next person and so on down the line.  You only get to see the page before yours and everyone keeps their page under wraps until the end and then we’ll have a blog hop.  If you want to join in, please let me know in the comments below before Monday 3 October.

I’ll just leave you now with an example of Puddle Duck’s creativity:

Doctor Who????

23 responses »

  1. Those lo’s are sooooooooooo fun!! I loveeeeee that SMILEY and the flowers on the first one!! And hmmmmmmmm I’m not sure about the body/computer screen thing either… I am all too aware of my time…and I can be on the computer till after midnight some nights and then go crash in bed! LOL!! And your game sounds fun… I really wish I had the time to do it! :):):):):):):):):):):)

  2. Well I love how the layouts turned out, no matter what your original intentions were with them. Love how you used that button for the title on the first. Pass the page sounds like fun, I’ll play along!

  3. Hello Jo! Nice of you to visit my blog and leave a comment. It would be lovely if you choose to join us in November. Although I have confirmed the booking for 7 “beds”, there probably would be no problem in adding a few extras – especially this early on. Do get in touch if you can come!!

    The scrap pages are lovely. I don’t know what you were envisaging when you set out, but both look like pretty successful pages to me – they have colour, interest, texture and a story – perfect!

    “Pass the Page” sounds fun – why not eh?!

  4. Well done on reaching that magic post number! I would love to join in your layout challenge. I did one of these on a forum ages ago and it was the best fun!

  5. Hello! Thanks so much for your lovely comment on my blog – and so nice to be able to come and visit in return. I’d love to join in Pass The Page (thanks for the invite) so just let me know what I need to do and when.

    Love the layouts! I always love it when I start with one idea and end up with another – it shows that creativity is flowing!

    And….I spotted Lizzie’s comment. I’ll be on the blogger’s retreat too, so do come if you can x

  6. I’d love to play – I just found a site that does this and really fancied it! There’s no such thing as failing with a Counterfeit Kit – as long as you use up some stash and enjoy it! Your pages look great 🙂 – well done on the 50th too

  7. When I read the post title in Google Reader I was jealously thinking my goodness you look fabulous for 50 … but then I read on and found it was your blog that was doing that!!!!

    Brilliant page – and as with any kit you can always add your own stash & Shimelle does cal it a starting point challenge – so no, not even a single fail on it!!!! BTW – my page for tomorrow used just a sheet of CS and a 3″ strip of PP from my kit … does that explain why I’m defending your right to add stash?!?!?! LOL

    I love Chinese Whispers challenges and would be honoured to join in 😀

  8. Oooh! I’d love to join in if there is space. I agree with others about the Starting Point and Kit, you can add to it and change it if you like, totally! Why put extra pressure on yourself or end up not liking something? Its YOUR layout and YOUR stash so you can do what you like. Interesting point about the computer screens and I think I might take that on board as I have trouble falling asleep at night. Maybe I need to switch off earlier!

  9. Congrats on 50 posts Julie…and fabulous LO’s too.

    I would like to join in too…very international flavour to it all. Exciting!!

  10. Those are great layouts – I especially like your clustering on the first one. Do keep making kits, it gets easier and easier with practice.

  11. I love your page about the brownies in particular – great photos and lots of pretty emblelishments to boot! Yes, happy to join in and thank-you for visiting me. Congratulations! 🙂

  12. I love your use of the pattern paper. Patterns scare me!! I usually stick to solids with 1 pattern paper. I hope to try one of Shimelle’s Starting points. I’ve really got to start getting my JYC together tho!

  13. Even though I don’t live there any more, I come from Brum so your first page grabbed my attention right away! I don’t know the restaurant, I’m a fiercely proud Brummie so it must have been good! Both your layouts are great – nice mix of papers and embellishments. Don’t give up on the kits – looks to me like you are doing so well and it gets easier with practice!

    Congrats on your 50th post! Here’s to the next 50 and to the 50 after that!

  14. omgoodness, I would have LOVED to play pass the page. I hope you had a great time with it. ❤ Your pages here are perfect! You always have such a nice balance of color and design.
    I have yet to try a starting point. I get all excited about it, and then something else grabs my attention. Sigh. Maybe the next one? 🙂

Leave a comment