My Life Map

Standard

September certainly was a busy month and I can’t believe that it is October already.  I don’t really feel as though I got September finished!

A new month means a new challenge at Scrapbookers Anonymous and this month is to use your die cutting machine.  As soon as I knew about this challenge I had a very good idea of what I wanted to do – inspired by this piece of work by Mel at I Speak Melsh.

I loved the idea of using a real map and picking out places of significance.  I chose to use places I had lived and four different Spellbinders Nestabilities circles to create my map based embellishments.

The large butterfly is a Sissix die and the smaller ones are from an X-cut punch.  They are cut from the same paper I used for the pinked circles behind the maps.  I like to just stick my butterflies along the centre and then lift up and curl (on the larger ones) the wings to add dimension.  I also added a bit of bling to the butterflies and on the maps in the rough position of where I lived.

I suppose I should have cut my title on my Bigshot too, but I like these chipboard alphas and I was trying to use my September Counterfeit kit.  The placement of the letters was inspired by a bookmark from Wagamamas.  Having left myself nowhere to journal I wrote my journalling around the edge of the kraft cardstock base.

You have until the end of the month to get crafty with you die cutter and win this fantastic prize. Just link up your project at Scrapbookers Anonymous. Or why not try one of the mini challenges:-

BIRTHDAY MINI STASH CHALLENGES – YOU HAVE UNTIL MIDNIGHT OCT 7TH TO FINISH ALL MINI CHALLENGES

And don’t forget that you have until midnight tonight to sign up if you would like to join a game of  Pass the Page.  Just leave a comment here or on my 50th blog post – there’s already an amazing list of talented ladies taking part.
Whatever your selected challenge, make sure you enjoy yourself.  Happy scrapping Peeps.
19 responses »

  1. Love this page – I did something similar for Shimelle’s Explore class ( though no where near as nice!). I really like your grid and the raised up bits on the maps

  2. Oh my word, I *love* what you’ve done here! Thank you so much for linking to my piece as your inspiration, but now you’ve totally inspired me to do something based on your gorgeous page 🙂

  3. I absolutely love this LO, what a great idea, I may have to do something like this myself. I didn’t make it to the crop, I was ill. Are you going to the cropaganza in November. See you soon.xxxx

  4. THis is fabulous. I love the maps.. very cool way to document your life.
    I hear ya about Sept. It whizzed by… I didn’t craft much.. and didn’t feel like I got much other things accomplished. Oct is a new month, and I’m loving the cooler weather here.

    =)

  5. oh, I love this layout! I received a similar frame as a gift recently with places significant to myself and my husband but the idea of layout of my top places is so brilliant. this is a gorgeous layout and i’m pinning for later inspiration!

  6. Oh as I thought, your blog was one of the ones where my comment was “swallowed”! I’ll try again!
    I really like your picture/page. Fab way to document life’s moves and changes. I may have to copy you… do you mind if I do?
    Love it – great interpretation of the original idea too.

  7. THIS is incredible!! WOW!!! I think your daughter, and future generations will be quite impressed with this life map,and you have inspired me to do this myself! ❤

Leave a Reply

