A Riot of Ribbons

Standard

If September was a busy month, October must have been even busier.  I’ve been busy most weekends and I’ve hardly had time to blog or craft.  And I can’t apologise enough to all the lovely ladies who have posted entries to Scrapbookers Anonymous in October, that I just haven’t been able to go through and leave you all a comment.

There’ll be more time to craft in November with Cropaganza on 5th and Lizzie’s craft weekend later in the month. With a wedding in Leeds to fit in too it’s going to be a very busy month yet again.  Can someone please postpone Christmas? – I need a month off to recover!

A new month means a new challenge at Scrapbookers Anonymous and this month is to use your ribbons.  This is such a good challenge for me.  I have literally miles of the stuff and I don’t use it nearly so much as I should.  It’s so versatile I think the choice and options are a bit overwhelming sometimes.  That’s certainly what I found when I sat down to complete this challenge.  I think I went through all of my ribbons and the funny thing is that the ribbons which inspired my page weren’t even used!

It was a red, aqua and white stripe which caught my eye – such a classic combination, and a white one with red hearts, stars and flowers in circles.  I knew I had some papers in the right colour scheme, so I sat down with the papers and a pile of ribbon and ended up creating this:

Can you tell I’ve been soaking up the inspiration from Shimelle’s Pretty Paper Party?  This wasn’t made with a specific prompt in mind, so it would fit in with distressing or two colours and a neutral.  I haven’t included any journalling – I want to make some LOs to record Puddle Duck’s career aspirations as she grows up and this one is so unusual for a 7 year old girl.

The rosettes are made using a technique I’ve been dying to try from a fabric jewellery book I bought a while back.  I cut two concentric circles from an ice-cream box (the card is thicker than cereal boxes and I went forward and back through the Bigshot a few times to make sure it was cut) to give me a ring, as you would use for making pompoms.  Then I wrapped the ribbon round and round the card, NOT through the middle.  When it was covered I took a needle and thread and sewed a circle around the middle (this is why you need a ring rather than a solid circle of card), making sure to secure all the passes of ribbon.  I then got the scissors, cut the ribbon edges and removed the card.  I covered the stitching with circles of card, buttons and sticky jewels. I think I’ll try again with a mix of finer ribbons – these ones are pretty solid.

But really the thing I am proudest of on this page is the paint.  Not that I finally got round to using it this way on a LO, but that I mixed the colour myself.  I used loads of white, a bit of windsor blue and a the tiniest smidgen of lemon yellow.  I think it turned out a pretty good match.  The first coat was a little dark, so I added some more white and dry brushed it over the top.

If you want to try mixing aqua yourself, do not use ultramarine blue or cadmium yellow – they have too much red pigment in them and you won’t get a bright, clear colour.  Make sure you use a cool blue and yellow.

The papers are Dream Street International – a range called Delight, so you may see them resurface later this month as we reach for our D themed stash at Scrapbookers Anonymous.

You have until the end of the month to get crafty with your ribbons and win a great prize. Just link up your project at Scrapbookers Anonymous.  Here are some other ideas for using ribbons on your LOs:

.
.
You can make roses, by twisting and folding and stitching the bottom as you go to hold it in place.
.
I did these pink ones as part of Shimelle’s 4X6 Photo Love and I’ll be sharing the full page at a later date.
.
If these roses seem a little too complicated you can always simply use a running stitch to gather one edge and make a rosette.
.
If sewing’s not your thing, cover a circle of card with double sided sticky tape and then, starting in the middle  twist and coil your ribbon until the card is covered.
Or for something a little bigger try this circle of ribbon loops inspired by Daphne
(the purple strip is straight – it’s just that the page was bowed when I took the photo.)
.
For something a little more subtle, you could try three little embellishments in the corner of the page.
.
Whatever you do, don’t stick the buttons down with glue dots, as I did and then decide to sew them on.  The needle gets covered with the glue, making it hard work to sew and clean the needle afterwards.
.
Then there is always the use of ribbon instead of a strip of paper, either laid flat and adhered with brads:
Or ruffled for a bit of dimension.  This one was stitched, due to its guazy nature, but you can achieve a similar effect with double sided tape.
Well that should give you enough ideas to get the ribbon out and get crafting.
.
Lizzie has the Pass the Page this week – I can’t believe how much it has changed already – it’s totally unrecognisable from the one I did only four weeks ago.
11 responses »

  1. I have a 13 year old who has fancied being a scientist since she was about 7 too 🙂 One of the best days of her life has been when her Dad brought her home some Dry Ice to investigate!

    I do love that aqua red and white colour combination

  2. Lots of lovely ideas in here – I like the twisted ribbons flower especially and looking forward to more about how to do the roses – they look beautiful.

  3. Great use of your ribbon, love all the ideas and I do adore the color scheme in your first layout. Thanks for stopping by and leaving such kind words. I will miss the SA Design Team, but I’ll still be around!

  4. Oooh yesss! I have Pass the Page and I have Passed it On (well back to Julie anyway)! But the rest will have to wait and see it at the end!

    Julie, what a lot of gorgeous and colourful scrapping. I love the paper flowers you made for your page – and the theme of the page too. The lettering is great. And I love to mix my own colours too – thanks for the advice about the blue base for an aqua tint!

Leave a Reply

