Cropaganza and Christmas Crafts with Shimelle

Standard

It’s been a couple of weeks since my last blog post, so a catch up is well over due.  I’ve had a weekend of crafting and a super fine wedding in Leeds to keep me occupied.

I’ll start with the crafting – 5th of November was the annual Crapaganza for the Bromsgrove Crop organised by Liberty.  A full day of crafting, with three classes taught by Ifa Zainon, a kit with the new American Crafts Garden Cafe papers and yummy food.  What more could you ask for?

My first project from the day allowed me to try out heat embossing for the first time.  Puddle Duck has put a kit on her list to Santa for me, so I’m looking forward to more heat embossing in the New Year.  I didn’t make too many changes from Ifa’s original and I still have the journalling to do, but here it is.

I’ve been looking at the plastic doilies printed on my Prima flowers and butterflies packaging for a while now, thinking that I should be able to use them on a scrapbook page.  I love this idea of using Stickles to add a bit of bling to them first.

The second page I couldn’t quite get to grips with – I don’t know if it was the photos I’d chosen, but I just didn’t feel the love for what I was trying to do.  Liberty and Deb both stayed true to the original and I love both of theirs (click on their names to see what they’ve done), so I don’t know what the problem was.

I made some significant changes and this is what I’ve got so far:

I think I may add some more embellishment and then there’s the journalling, which will go in the bottom left. I think I’ll try Ifa’s doodled clouds another time on a different project.

Last weekend Shimelle hosted an online Christmas Crop, but I missed it as I headed off to Leeds for the wedding of my old friend Paul.  It really was a wonderful day and I wish Paul and Kayle all the best for their life together.

Luckily Shimelle kept the party going and Puddle Duck and I have been doing some Christmas Crafting. I was too late sending in the money for her after school club and she didn’t get a place, so I’ve promised her Christmas Crafts every Wednesday evening to make up.

We made these tags based on this prompt and I made my first Christmas card based on this prompt (Puddle Duck started one but decided she didn’t want to finish it.)

I didn’t realise how tricky it would be to arrange those poinsettia. I think this is all a bit pastel for my taste – that’ll teach me to buy a kit because I think it’s a bargain.

I signed up for Shimelle’s Journal Your Christmas last year but I didn’t get too far. I started early, on the 28th November, because I wanted to start with a record of Puddle Duck keeping her advent promise and going to church. I managed three pages, I started the cover and I did the manifesto in the inside cover and then I ground to a halt.

I’m going to try a different approach this year. I intend to customise this old Christmas photo album, which has two 4X6 photo pockets per page.

There are 24 pages of protectors, so allowing a journal card and a photo per day there’s space for up to 48 days. I’ll prepare the cards next weekend, so come 1 December I will only need to take a photo each day and write a card.

In other news Puddle Duck made her Brownie promise. Her Guiding journey has begun.

16 responses »

  1. You’ve been busy! That wedding photo looks incredibly glamorous! Is that you on the far right?

    Glad you enjoyed a good crop … I’m never quite pleased with my pages from classes unless I have made them my own in some way – crazy really as my pages will never sit side by side with anyone else’s after the end of the class, but I like to think that mine is properly my style … difficult if the class teacher’s is very different.

  2. I love how your second LO turned out, it’s good that you changed it if it didn’t go with your photo’s, it was a fun day. I can’t make it to the Dec crop, I’m taking the girls to London for the day.
    Thanks for your kind words about my brother, enjoy your Christmas crafting and I look forward to seeing what you do.xxxx

  3. Ooh, some great projects here! Love them.

    Looking forward to seeing you on Friday, at the Bloggers’ Crafting Weekend.
    Just a reminder about the e-mail I sent out on 11th – I need your responses asap please, as there are final things to organise, including meals with the hostel. I will send you an e-mail reminder, but just posting here, in case you never got the original e-mail. Please get back to me asap!
    Lizzie

  4. Wow, there’s so much in this post! First of all I love both the layouts, I don’t think the second one needs anything more. Love the tags and your idea of how to tackle the Christmas journal.

  5. Whew! You DO have a busy life! I loooove that idea with the doillies ~ might pinch that myself. I really enjoy heat embossing, too, but haven’t done it for a while … this will get me motivated, as it’s good for Christmas ‘stuff’. Which is coming up. Fast. Keep busy with that:):)

  6. Congratulations to Puddle Duck on her Brownie Promise – she looks as though she is thoroughly enjoying herself!
    What a glamorous wedding group – sounds like a wonderful weekend for you. 🙂

  7. Quite the glamorous wedding! Lovely layouts and wonderful Christmas crafts. My cards are almost done, hopefully I will get to some tags soon.

  8. I read this post a while back, but didn’t have the ability to comment. I adore your pictures, and I’m pretty sure this is my new favorite layout of yours! LOVE!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

