Christmas Journal

Standard

This 4X6 format really seems to be working for me this year. I’m almost keeping up and I won a prize! No, I can’t believe it either. I used the stash Deb sent me for the Soul Scrapper Quest for two reasons:

  • It is just too busy at Christmas to take on an extra project
  • The collection contained both traditional and modern elements, which I struggled to combine in a single LO

There were some fantastic projects, including a wonderful exploding box, so I was really surprised to get a runners up prize.  Anyway, enough of the bragging, here’s some more pages and you can judge for yourselves:


These first two pages use some of the modern Soul Scrappers stash (and a gorgeous wooden reindeer given to me by Jo).  The first photo is of the largest advent calendar I have ever seen – it is on top of one of the cabins in the German Christmas Market in Birmingham.

Now leaving out a little something for Santa and Rudolph on Christmas Eve is one of my favourite traditions, but it has changed over the generations.  As a child I always left Santa a glass of sherry – Puddle Duck leaves him a glass of Baileys.  Can you guess why?

The tree and bauble on the next page were also Soul Scrappers embellishments – I added some stickles for a little extra sparkle. And I have Mel to thank for the journalling. I had written the first part when her card arrived. It was as I was putting it on the mantle shelf that I realised that it was having the cards up that made it feel like Christmas was here. Thanks Mel (and Theresa, Lea, K and Alexa too).

The 9th is missing.  It was Puddle Duck’s school Christmas disco.  The photo is of her and her friends and she wants to do the journalling card.

10th was the church Christmas Fayre and Puddle Duck joined in the Carol Singing – eventually. She wanted to join in but there was no-one else from her class and she was too shy to ‘sing with strangers’. It took me some time to get the attention of the teacher to help encourage her to go on the stage. The head was as useful as always, totally missing the point and saying ‘we can’t force them’.

On 11th we went to the German Christmas Market in Birmingham.  It was raining and I got soaked but it didn’t dampen Puddle Duck’s spirits.  We bought some brass stamps from a stall with trays of them all laid out, worry dolls from the tin toy stall and some wooden instruments shaped like a frog and an elephant which made the sound of the respective animal.

Puddle Duck loved the stall in the photo.  Santa brought her a nutcracker for the tree last year with the Barbie DVD.  Now she wants a ‘real’ one which actually cracks nuts.  Unfortunately these were all for show.

This photo was taken on Christmas Eve 2006, our last Christmas in Barnsley, just before Puddle Duck went out to put the magic reindeer food on the front lawn.  I think it’s the first one I’ve printed from that year.

There’s a bit of a gap in the journal – I have a couple of photos printed and four cards to make/write, but we put the tree up this weekend, so I skipped to 17th and this page. The silver flower and green ribbon are more of the Soul Scrappers stash. The red cabouchon is actually a very fancy button with the shank removed.

For the 18th I have included Christmas dinner and a photo from 2005, which was one of the ones in the photo album before it was transformed into my 2011 Christmas Journal. I had just about finished adding the letters to the photo when I remembered that it was taken with a film camera and is my only copy!!! Hence I have not gone ahead and added the number 18 to the photo until I scan it in for posterity.

The row of Christmas treats on the card were cut from an old Christmas card.  I don’t throw many Christmas cards away.  They are usually recycled in craft projects or used to make another year’s Christmas cards.

I’ve also had some happy mail.  Two packages from America arrived on the same day.  A book and tag from Laura and a card and gift from Theresa and Lea.  Thank-you so much ladies.

Puddle Duck’s new passport arrived today.  I think it is too late to book a trip to Lapland to see Santa this year.  I’ve promised we can go next year if she still wants to. The fact that I’m actually finishing work tomorrow seems to be compensation enough for her – such a sweet child: sometimes.

Now for some reason my preview was not showing the last two photos as it should.  The only way I could get them to show was to make them 90% smaller – weird!

13 responses »

  1. What a thrill to see my card there 🙂 Glad you liked it and that it prompted your journaling! Your project is coming together beautifully – I’m not loving mine at all this year, sadly, but I’m picking up lots of inspiration from everyone else ready for nect year 🙂

  2. I’m so impressed with your journal! I started…..and finished one page. :/ I think your format is perfect! I LOVE that you have had a wonderful holiday season, and a trip to Lapland sounds amazing! Wonderful work! 😀

Leave a Reply

