Christmas Journal Update

Standard

Hope you all had a great Christmas.  I’m still catching up on my Christmas Journal.  I read this morning how Julie Tucker-Wolek has been stressed out doing a December Daily.  I know what she means, but she has done a great job.

Daily mini-scrapbook journals are difficult to fit in when you work full time and have kids.  I arrived at this 4X6 format at my fourth attempt and it seems to be working for me. I’ve not followed all of Shimelle’s prompts, I’ve chosen to include what we did instead, I’ve not got a photo for every day – some use old photos, some have none and some days double up on one card.  I may miss some days out but it’s my Christmas journal so I decide what goes in.  It helps keep down the stress.  Here’s an update:

Puddle Duck performed in her first play outside school on 13th.  A little production called The Twelve Days of Christmas, with a grinch type story line.  The journalling strips are Puddle Duck’s lines and the circle is cut from my ticket.

The glare from the pocket is quite useful with this photo to help hide the faces of the other players.

14th is all about how the presents get handed out and the observant amongst you will have noticed that the photo wasn’t taken on 14th because the tree didn’t go up until 17th!

We had our Christmas parties on 15th and 16th and I combined both days on one card with a photo of Puddle Duck at the Brownies Christmas Party.  She had her face painted to be Rudolph.

17th and 18th you’ve already seen here and 19th records Puddle Duck’s letter to Santa. The envelope is tucked behind the card and the letter will go inside when I find it!  This card uses some of my Soul Scrappers stash – the Santa tag and the green spotted serviette.

20th and 21st are still on the drawing board – don’t know what I’m going to do for them.  I photographed The Grandma’s tree on 21st, so I’ve printed one of those pictures.

.

.

.

We went to Birmingham to finish the Christmas shopping on 22nd.  We wrote a shopping list on train and that is going behind the card.  Doesn’t the Bull look smart in his Christmas jumper?

23rd was a trip to see Santa with Cousin No.1 and The Aunt.  The Grandparents babysat for Cousin No.2.  I’m really not quite sure what happened when I printed this photo – Santa was a live person and not a model – honest.

I have some photos printed for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and the Christmas pantomime, so it will be done soon.  We have tickets to go and see Grease tomorrow night, because that is Puddle Duck’s next production.  What have you got planned for New Years Eve?

5 responses »

  1. Awwwwwww thanks for the shout out! You are toooooo sweet!! To answer your ? … I am not sure yet if it was worth it… I am not ‘in love’ with what I made yet – maybe because of the stress I had making it? Not sure – jury is still out on this one! LOL!!

    I loveeeeeeeeeeeeee yours!!! BEAUTIFUL!! I think if I ever do it again – I will take your approach and more journaling and less worrying about everything else! Happy New Year! :):):):):):):):):):):)

  2. Your pages are lovely. This is #6 for me, and I’ve really been able to let go of the need to scrap a page for every day. I guess that’s why I call it a Christmas Journal, and not December Daily!

Leave a Reply

