Summer Senses

Standard

I hope you all enjoyed the blog hop last weekend. I was totally blown away by the response and all those lovely comments.  If you missed it, start here and leave comments along the way before this Friday and you will be entered into the draw on Debi’s blog.

I am in the process of creating a new page to house a gallery of all the LOs with links to the blog pages, so if anyone has been away and missed it you will be able to catch up without having to skip to older posts on some of the blogs.

It’s getting close to the end of the month and the end of Scrapbookers Anonymous‘ painting and ‘F’ challenges. You may remember that when I posted my painting LO on 1 January, I mentioned a set of challenges on the Soul Scrappers website. Well I have now completed the full series and it’s about time I shared them all.

The series of 5 challenges were based on the five senses and what memories they evoke of summer. First was the smells of summer and a challenge to use stitching. I hand stitched some ribbon roses and used Shimelle’s 4X6 photo LO for August (8 photos) with the page protectors machine stitched together.

This was about the time I was working on a LO using an embellishment made by Miss Smith for her 200th blog post.  I think you may be able to detect some influence in the embellishments I made:

Now I’ll whisper this, I wasn’t too keen on this LO idea when I first saw it but I was pleased with the way it turned out and even more pleased when I found out I won this round of the challenge!

The next sense to scrap was the sights of summer and using fussy cutting as the technique. The timing was awful, since it co-incided with me misplacing my detail scissors. I still haven’t found them and ended up buying a new pair!

Here’s my LO. It uses everything from one line of Echo Park papers, so it feels too ‘safe’ for me. I like to mix and match.

The next sense was texture, using distressing as a technique. Now I like seeing other people’s distressed pages but I don’t do it much myself, so there was a touch more ‘stressing’ than distressing here – especially for poor Clair who was sat next to me at the Blogger’s crafting weekend. Poor girl has a foot phobia!!!

This owes a little to the influence of Amy Lassiter – especially the use of corrugated card as a background.


Next was the taste of summer and the use of paint. You can read about the design process and lack of pp here.

So the final sense was the sounds of summer and the challenge was to use all four techniques – stitching, fussy cutting, distressing and paint. I thought of the sound of waves on the beach but the best photo I had was on the Cruise in October and no way was this going to fit in that album. Birds; but I had no photos, bees; but I’ve already scrapped about bees and used my best photo, crickets on our summer holidays; but again no photos. Then it came to me – a summer rock festival and here it is:

.

The photos were supplied by The Aunt and I mounted them on card to look like Instamatic photos.  The We R Memory Keepers Teenage Angst papers provided some perfect images for fussy cutting and I added a few extra paint splatters.  The button badges came from M&S sale – £1.50 for six.

One of the added criteria for this challenge was to include a tree, so I went with U2’s Joshua Tree and downloaded an image of the record label from the internet. I did some masking this time (it’s part of the SA challenge and I forgot when I did my ice cream LO – Doh!) and then I painted the tree red, applied a thick layer of crackle glaze and a top coat of black paint. The crackle glaze is ancient so I was worried it wouldn’t work but I love the way it turned out (just click on the photo for a closer look).

So my first grunge LO and I’m quite pleased with the way it turned out – it’s the perfect style for the subject and it’s good to be pulled out of your comfort zone.  Although I wouldn’t say I’ll never do it again I feel more comfortable with my more usual cleaner style of scrapping.

IN OTHER NEWS:

I’ll be hosting a regular recipe challenge at Soul Scrappers starting next month – I hope you’ll join us – it’s a wonderful community.  And don’t forget that the Scrapbookers Anonymous challenges to use masking and paint or something with the letter F are both live until the end of the month.  Happy Scrapping Peeps.

8 responses »

Leave a Reply

