Scrapbookers Anonymous February Challenge

Standard

As a singleton, February and thoughts of Valentine’s Day fill me with dread – I just do not do all that slushy romantic stuff.  So imagine my horror when I saw the February challenge from Scrapbookers Anonymous – three hearts and stitching?

Well I am pleased to announce that not only did I manage it, but I have two LOs fitting the criteria to share with you today.  If you have arrived here from  Scrapbookers Anonymous, you will have already seen this LO:

There’s plenty of hearts there.  I have to confess to a bit of a cheat with the stitching – that large heart was taken from one of Puddle Duck’s old T-shirts (well nothing was actually said about having to do the stitching yourself LOL!).  I’m a bit disappointed with the inking – I used Tim Holtz distress ink in tattered rose to ink the edge of all the papers and it’s barely visible.  If anyone has any ideas please let me know.

The inspiration for the photos came from this post by SJ Dowsett.  Puddle Duck has learned the ‘whatever’ and ‘loser’ signs so, for once, she was happy to pose for these shots.  I think they work quite well as part of the title.

I’m not sure where I want to put the journalling (or even quite what I will write) because I’m not sure whether the LO is finished as it is or whether I want to add more layers.  Glitter Girl has a great tutorial on doing just that – if I give it a whirl I’ll come back and show you how it turned out.

Now I did say that I managed two LOs.  The other one is scraplifted from a LO Shimelle did for Basic Grey at the beginning of the year.  The original has lots of ‘space’ and not too much embellishment.  I still hadn’t started Paul and Kayle’s wedding album so I thought this would make a good first page.

The pages are 9 X 9 so I ended up losing the feeling of space from the original.  I have plenty monochrome papers but when I saw Basic Grey’s Little Black Dress range I just had to have it for this album.  It’s not very often I buy stash that’s not in a sale, but it is for a special project.  I hope they like it.

I was a bit disappointed when I realised that the large word banner had only left two whole circles clear for the hearts – until I realised that the design of the album means that I could allow the third heart to ‘spill’ over the edge.

Here’s a close up of the hearts and stitching – and I did do this one myself on my machine.  I find that paper tends not to run through fast enough, so I end up with very short stitches and perforated paper.  I avoided that this time by ignoring the foot pedal and turning the handle by hand.

The inking worked a little better on this one too – this one is weathered wood.  Maybe I need to get a little more heavy handed.

Winners and Thank-Yous

Now I’ve been a bit lax with my posts I know.  Deb did the draws for the prizes for the Pass the Page blog hop.  Congratulations to Nathalie, Leanne and Alexa.  You can see what they won here.  And thanks again to Deb for being so generous and to all the ladies who played Pass the Page and made it such a success.

More Challenges

Things will probably be a little quiet here for the next week or two.  I very rashly agreed to Puddle Duck having a slumber Party on 11th for her Birthday.  Seven 7 to 8 year old girls for about 18 hours – Gulp!  So I have a lot to sort out.

I am also hosting my very first challenge at Soul Scrappers on 8th Feb.  I’ll be back with a sneak peak then and hope that you’ll show your support and join in.

I’ve not got started on Miss Smith’s sketch class yet, although I have a few ideas buzzing round my head.  The prompts have been great – I just haven’t had time and I don’t think I will have until later in the month.  All the money raised is going to Girl Guiding UK and I think you can still sign up if you’re interested.  It’s well worth the £5 and it is for a good cause..

I’ll be back on 15th for the Scrapbookers Anonymous A – Z Challenge and hopefully normal service will be resumed after that.

10 responses »

  1. Your layouts get better and better. WOW! I adore the strips of photos, so sweet! And your design around it complements it perfectly! 🙂
    The black and white layout is stunning. I just love it. I think it may be one of my most favorite of yours. (I know, I say that a lot, hehe). I love the photo, the design, the patterns. Perfection. 🙂
    Thank you for your visits to my blog, and for your constant, kind, friendly support. I’m so glad to have met you! ❤

  2. Two gorgeous pages Julie – if I had to choose a fave it would be the 2nd – love everything from the sweet photo to the lovely PP to the stitching and that 3rd heart! The boys will love it!

  3. The photostrip is perfect – nicely quirky! I’d have baulked at the hearts theme too, so well done for persevering and the end result is lovely!

  4. beautiful layouts. I love how you repurposed the heart on the first layout. very cool. and I agree, that Basic Grey line is fab. is perfect for wedding photos.
    Have fun with the sleep over. you are such a great mom agreeing to that. The kids will have a fabulous time..
    Hope you had a wonderful weekend..
    =)

  5. Well done you for stepping out of your comfort zone (aka hearts)
    Love the photos of your daughter making letters with her hands. & I just adore the second layout, its so well balanced drawing your eye to the lovely photo … it just stage whispers “awwwww **smiley smush face**

Leave a Reply

