G is for Garden Cafe

Standard

It’s the 15th, so time for the A – Z challenge at Scrapbookers Anonymous.  We’ve got to the letter G and I couldn’t think of anything better than using some of American Crafts’ Garden Cafe papers.

This page is a little way from my usual style of scrapping, but I think it suits the old photo and the pp I used for the photo mat has a vintage feel to the pattern.

I was tempted to try this new style by one of the challenges at Soul Scrappers.  There’s a whole host of extra challenges this month to celebrate their second birthday.  This one was to use floral paper, nine blooms and create a flower cluster corner.  I made ten flowers using layers of paper Prima flowers, silk flowers and brads from WHSmith.  The journalling blocks are We R Memory Keepers.

The page just didn’t look right with a column of journal strips on one side and a big cluster of flowers on the other side of the photo, so I added more at the top and bottom of the journalling blocks to balance the page and create a visual triangle.

I think my Grandad most probably took the photo.  If you click and enlarge it you should be able to see that he managed to capture the steam coming off the cup of tea on the table in front of the window.  He was a pretty keen photographer and even developed some of his own photos in the bathroom – when Nan let him!  It’s the original photo so I have attached it using photo corners rather than glue.

I spent a lot of time at Nan and Grandad’s as a child, so it’s good to get some of the memories recorded before I start forgetting them.

I’m hoping to get a few more Soul Scrappers Birthday challenges done this month, so hopefully I’ll be back soon with those.  Next on the list is a travel themed page, so I’m hoping I can share some more G inspiration as I scrap some photos of Shaw Park Gardens in Jamaica.

You have until the end of the month to join in either (or both) of the challenges at Scrapbookers Anonymous – hope to see you there.

And before I go I just want to post a warning to anyone tempted to buy balloons containing LED lights.  The Aunt had one burst as she was blowing it up and the light hit her in the eye.  No permanent damage we think but it was still serious enough for a trip to the emergency department and a referral to the eye hospital.  Another balloon burst within minutes while the girls were throwing them to each other, so we had another near miss and all balloons were removed from the party.

9 responses »

  1. love the way you’ve written down your memories & what a lovely photo.

    In response to your comment on my blog..
    I usually go for a total lack of colour Julie, black, white & greys, sometimes a bit if red or purple, unless I’m crafting when I tend to go for pastels (ewww, I really dont like the thought that I’m a pastel person).
    As for my hair, I dont like pink anywhere else except in my hair, lol, hmm, maybe as eye shadow.

    Pink suits my facial colouring, green tends not to … I used to own a yellow checkered blouse that suited me but I suppose changing hair colour must have an impact on what suits us.

  2. Pingback: Edie | Letting the Days Roll By.......

Leave a Reply

