Cooking up a storm

Standard

Well, Puddle Duck’s party weekend, followed by trips out and driving to Yorkshire and back was so tiring that I needed a rest.  I cancelled everything this weekend and caught up with a bit of scrapping.  I did a fist full of challenges from Soul Scrappers, using up some of the stash I’d kept out when I packed up for the party.

First is this LO for Shazza’s challenge to use the REM song Shiny Happy People as inspiration.  The kids were pretty happy climbing on this elephant after a party last year.  The papers are all American Crafts Garden Cafe.

To go with that is another LO using five photos from that day:

Yes you read that correctly – five photos – the fifth is hidden and here it is.

This was for one of the birthday challenges – to scrap about shoes.  The kids decided that it was easier to climb on the elephant without shoes and I snapped the pile at the base of the statue.  Shimelle fans will recognise the concept behind these two LOs from her 4X6 PhotoLove course last year.  I also used the 10 photo LO from that series for another birthday challenge – scrapping photos from Shaw Park Gardens but the photo is not good enough to share.  It will have to wait for another time.

The next Soul Scrappers birthday challenge was to take inspiration from an item of children’s clothing.  Here’s my LO using buttons and scraps from Puddle Duck’s summer uniform:

And since I’m in a sharing mood, would you like to see the LO I created for my recipe challenge?  Yes?  Well here it is:

And here’s the recipe:

  • A sheet of white cardstock
  • Use a new tool or technique
  • Use up scraps – no new sheets of paper or packs of alphas or embellishments
  • Embellish in threes

I hope you’ll join us at Soul Scrappers in this or one of the many other challenges.  Or try the hearts and stitching or letter ‘G’ challenges at Scrapbookers Anonymous.

16 responses »

  1. The children certainly look Shiny and Happy in that first layout. Love their big smiles!
    My favourite is the red page, about the Summer Fayre – it’s just fabulous and fun. Puddleduck looks very absorbed in what she was doing and really smart in her red summer dress. I like how you used the cut-out of the little girl, to lift the whole page and prevent it being too “red” – or too serious. The bunting string is great too.
    A lovely collection – I hope you feel rested and relaxed after your weekend of scrapping?

  2. Thank you so much for your nice comment on my blog ! I love your last page with the toys, colourful and bright, just what we need during this grey winter !

  3. Hey excuse me for butting in – I saw your comment on Mary Anne’s WOYWW post about her embossing being shiny, and her answer. Honestly, unless you’re unlucky enough to have picked up a matte powder, it’s honestly just practice…if your embossing is a bit flat and dull, it’s just overheated…they are crystals of plastic and the ink you use needs to be sticky (a pigment ink pad is perfect) so that the crystals stick to it in enough quantity to melt into a ‘pile’! Hold your heat gun close and as soon as it starts to melt, move it away…let residual heat finish it. Try to resist waving the heat gun around too, it just takes longer and you can’t see the point of change so quickly! So. practice. And there endeth my lesson, sorry, can you tell it’s my favourite thing ever!! Also..your scrapbook pages are absolutely delicious. Am gonna bookmark your blog for further browsing.

  4. Great photos and pages:) I love the way you’ve used the Cut ‘n’ Paste elements. I’ve used up quite a bit of my pad, but there’s still loads left and it’s good to have some inspiration for it.

  5. Hi there…. how on earth did you get that elephant to look so 3-D?? Amazing:) …and yes, re: the Valentine’s SA post, it IS glossy accents:):) I’m having fun looking here…happy scrapping:):):)

  6. As usual, lovely, lovely work! 🙂 I’m in LOVE with the red layout…….it is fabulous!! 🙂
    I always enjoy perusing your blog……it’s a joy each time I visit. ❤

Leave a Reply

