Breaking the Block

Standard

You know that feeling, you have craft projects to do but you don’t know where to start.  There’s a pile of LOs finished; all barring the journalling but you just can’t find the right words.  Well that’s where I’ve been at and I think I finally got through it.

We’ve been invited to The Aunt’s sister’s wedding and the RSVP was due at the end of March!  I’d seen this rock and roll challenge hosted by Upcycling Goddess Yvonne Yam and thought I’d try it to add a bit more dimension to my stamping.  I ended up making the wedding acceptance card and the card for the wedding:

I also made Puddle Duck’s tag using the same technique:

I missed the deadline for the challenge, but I did get a couple little craft pieces out of the way and learned a new technique which I will try again, so I count that as a Win.  And I am still just in time for Shimelle’s stamping challenge.

I managed to break my journallers block too and did the journalling on 5 LOs last night, leaving 2 left to do.

There are different reasons, but I only have 2 of those LOs to share with you today.  First is the LO with the upside down paper from the crop earlier this month:

For the uninitiated, kali is a bag of sugar with colour and flavour added.  The Drake got confused – what they call kali in South Yorkshire is what we call sherbert.  You could do a whole page on sweets and sweet names!

It’s not one of my favourite LOs but it is growing on me.  I used my Dear Lizzy Neapolitan papers and the stamp set I bought with it for the ribbons on the rosettes and the little camera.

I’m not overly impressed by the American Crafts butterfly banner – it didn’t pull out of the sheet too easily, leaving bits of paper in the stitches between the butterflies.  The stitches then unravelled when I removed the bits.  I think I would try making my own rather than buy this product again.

And finally I finished off this LO which I did a while back.  I used a sketch from Scrapbook 365 by Kirsty Smith.  I don’t normally do pink and pastels, but these papers (which are the ones I used for my Sikh wedding LO) were perfect with the colours in Puddle Duck’s clothes.  I also avoided pre-made embellishments for this one – the vellum butterfly is from a birthday card.  And I finally used some washi tape!

I never did get round to doing the Just One Sketch course, so maybe I shall use this one for my ‘use a colour scheme you don’t normally use’ and do the rest of the course from there.  But I really must breakthrough the block on my friends’ wedding album first.  There’s a wedding theme challenge running at Soul Scrappers until 7th May so that should help me get going.

Don’t forget to join us at Scrapbookers Anonymous for the final time with the map and brad challenge.  I’ll be back later with my next Soul Scrappers recipe challenge.  Here’s a sneaky peak:

9 responses »

  1. My have you both changed! Great lo’s. I had the exact same problem with the bunting as you have had with the butterflies. Glad i had mine at the retreat as it really is poor quality which is not what you usually get from AC

  2. Hey….You are on a roll!!!…Love all your projects …Beautifully done…especially the layout!!! Gorgeous Rosette…

    I know exactly how you feel!!!… I thought I could finish a couple of projects this weekend… but of course NOT…

    Hugs…xoxo

    • Love the stamps you’ve used on the Wedding Acceptance card..and I love the effect of the butterfly banner..but on your advice I shall make my own!
      Alison xx

  3. Gosh, you have been beautifully busy! I do love the idea of an pretty personalised wedding acceptance card – that’s one they’ll want to keep I’m sure

  4. You’ve been productive! These are aweome …love that you tried out the rock-and-roll inking technique!

    P/s: I’ve been scrapping from the perspective of telling the story these days rather than the photos and papers. It helps with the journaling a lot!

  5. Well done on breaking the block – love the blue tag esprcially. I gave up on Just One Sketch – it didn’t teach me anything I didn’t do already and I don’t like sharing with Pinterest much – glad to have supported a good cause though!

  6. Wow, what wonderful eye candy! Love the tags and your layouts are so pretty. I wondered about that butterfly banner, thought it looked a bit tricky, just like you said!

Leave a Reply

