A Jolly Jubilee

Standard

After all the hype and anticipation, it’s finally here.  And I have two challenges for you to kick off a Joyous Jubilee Weekend.  If you have some J themed stash to use up or want somewhere to share your Jubilee scrapping you are in the right place.  If you want to fly the flag with a recipe challenge, follow this link.

This month I am joined by the lovely Jemma (aka Jim Jams).  I first came across Jemma on a Shimelle course and got to meet her in person last year.  She’s just as lovely as her wonderful bright pages, but now I’ll hand over to her……….

Thank you Julie for asking me to guest post for you today – and for allocating me the letter “J” to play with.  “J” is for me (Jemma) and my blog (Just-Jimjams) and I have blogged about the letter “J” before but never really scrapped with it (apart from making name badges for crops and scrappy retreats). 
The UK is currently draped in flags, what with the Queen’s DIamond Jubilee this month and the 2012 Olympics this summer, so my first port of call was a Union Jack!  I made a card with vintage book pages torn and inked appropriately.  I had to double-check to make sure that the flag was the correct way up – the broad white (or in my case Kraft) cross of Scotland is above the narrow red cross of Ireland on the left-hand side – the other way up is apparently a distress signal !!!
As I was creating for this post in advance of the Diamond Jubilee weekend I went back ten years to find our photos of the Queen’s Golden Jubilee.  I had to scan a selection of prints and do some heavy cropping because they were taken with APS film. This was two years before we had a digital camera and four years before I started scrapping, both of which changed the way I take photos.  There were none of me (always holding the camera) but plenty of my three kids; it was really fun to see how tiny they and their friends were a decade ago.
I bought 3 sheets of Papermania Portobello Road papers especially for the layout which is based on a sketch from Sketch Support‘s book of Travel Sketches.   I trimmed an “X” and a “P” to make the Bo Bunny Christmas (!) Bright alphas stretch for my long title – can you spot them?
My journalling was done with a Jellyroll pen just to add to the jolliness!  I hope you’ll all have fun joining in with Julie’s challenge during the month of June!

.

And now for my LO.  I decided it was about time I used up some of my Jenni Bowlin stash.  I’ve had 4 super sized rub-on butterflies sitting in the drawer for about year and they are just too beautiful to stay there.  There’s a challenge to use a grid over at the JBS site which I thought I could try, but I was really struggling until Glitter Girl came to the rescue and pointed me towards Jen Gallagher’s wonderful stretch your sketch course and this is what I came up with:

I think you’ll be seeing a few more of these photos, scrapped with AC’s Neapolitan papers.  The title is from one of the hymns sung during the Communion Service.  I’m not quite done with this – I need to add some journalling.  I can’t decide on black or maybe a white jelly roll pen.  And should I write round the butterfly or can I go over it?  What do you think?

I’d love to see what you create with the letter J – just leave a link to your project in the comments below before the end of June.  And don’t forget to visit Jemma for the Jubilee.

P.S.  This is my 90th post.  10 more to go to my centenary.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Julie loving JimJams guest appearance and all her jubilee makes. Your LO is gorgeous, I wouldn’t write over the butterfly as it is so beautiful. I didn’t join in last month as I thought I could only join in with stash that began with the letter ‘I’ so glad to realise that I can just do Jubilee or June or anything beginning with J so I will definitely be here this month!!

Leave a Reply

