Summer 2012 Photo Scavenger Hunt

Standard

I said that I’d split the scavenger hunt between three posts but I’ve changed my mind because:

  1. Life’s too short to write 3 posts when one will do
  2. It’s about time I learnt how to set up a photo gallery in a post
  3. You don’t want to mess about clicking between posts
  4. I seem to get less comments on earlier posts when I post close together (do you find that?)

There! Four good reasons.

I thought I’d struggle with some photos and some took longer than they should have done due to my amazing forgettery.  Some I couldn’t find, so I got creative and managed the lot.

I thought I’d struggle with the pier since we had no seaside trip planned.  But then we decided to take a River Cruise in London and that sorted that.  I managed a snap of the dragon marking the border between The City of London and The City of Westminster from the top of the tour bus – not my best shot but it was that or the patterned border on Puddle Duck’s dress.

Roadside stand was tricky.  There’s a few greasy cafe type stalls on the way to work but I never have time to stop.  This one’s a bit of a cheat – it is inside the entrance to a shop, but it is a stand selling something.

Historical landmarks and churches are a bit easy when you visit London – I couldn’t choose which ones, so you have a few to view.  We visited the local library but I didn’t take a photo.  I did however sort out my home library so you have a photo of that – oh come on, it doesn’t actually say PUBLIC library.

The Aunt’s sister got married so that sorted the bride. I took Puddle Duck and two friends to see Brave. Taking a photo when you are trying to keep an eye on a 6, 7 and 8 YO drops down off the priorities list, so I went back to take a poster of a movie this week (it’s the one Puddle Duck wants to see next).

The stairway is outdoors I promise.  It’s a gazebo type place made of cork outside the Serpentine Gallery in Hyde Park.  The swing from a tree had us stumped (pardon the pun) so we got creative and made one.

Puddle Duck chose Jessica Ennis as her national symbol. And mine?  A Union Jack teapot in M&S – you can’t get more British than that surely?

I also found a couple of four leaf clovers to photograph as a bonus item incase my work arounds were disallowed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I can only finish with a big thank-you to Rinda for setting us all such a great challenge.

16 responses »

    • I love the photo gallery, I shall have to learn that, it is much neater than a scroll through of lots of photos. Well done on completing the Scavenger Hunt. I have seen so much happy blogging about it that I will have to join in next year.

      Thanks for the comment on my blog. The next installment of the crotchet is for a granny square. At the moment it sounds as if it has been written in portugese, but I will get there, thanks for the encouragement 🙂

  1. Your montage is lovely – what a great way to view! I especially like the photo of the gentleman with the rose inside his brass instrument – great photos.

  2. I think Alexa needs a trip to Specsavers don’t you?!
    Love your slide show – worth the effort and more fun than clicking. I loved the flaming tuba (or whatever it was) and the staircase has me intrigued and I thought the swing shot was superb!

  3. I thoroughly enjoyed sitting back to enjoy your slideshow…the swing shot made me laugh out loud…very canny!! Amazing London shots (perfect venue for photo scavenging!!) & I especially like the Chelsea Pensioners boarding the train!! Inspired!! 😀

  4. thank you for your lovely comment today, i popped across to see to see your photos and yes indeed you did visit the same places as me over the summer lol! I have even got some of your photos but didn’t share them for the hunt. I especially love your four leaf clover, very clever!

Leave a Reply

