From kit to page – Overnight

Standard

I’ve been waiting to get scrapping for so long, I’ve already done 2 pages with my new kit. First is the challenge of threes: 3 patterned papers, 3 embellishments and a three word title:

DSC_0196

I used a Shimelle sketch.  I was puzzling over embellishments when Puddle Duck placed the large chipboard star next to the title.  I remembered my new star diecut, shuffled the embellishments from the original sketch and it all fell into place.

The second page is for the CKC challenge 3: ombre.

DSC_0197

 

It didn’t start with that challenge but I realised that I needed something between the photo and the words O Christmas Tree on the pp, because I hadn’t cut it in the right place and had already stuck it down.  I was going to punch small snowflakes from the red rectangles and then scatter them on the page, but I couldn’t find my punch.  I also struggled to find my vellum to take down the pattern behind the title, without obscuring it entirely.  I really must stop and sort out my craft room, but there is so much inspiration about – new photos, new stash and challenges on the net that I have so many ideas for scrapbook pages. I just want to get on with them.

DSC_0198

Talking of new stash, I used some new ink to stamp shimmering snowflakes, but they are quite hard to see.  I bought two colours of VersaMark Dazzle watermark stamp pads.  It seems quite sticky and takes a while to dry.  Am I using it as intended or is it meant to be used with embossing powders?  Have you used it?

10 responses »

  1. Such lovely layouts! Simple with pops of colour…just the way I like’em. 🙂

    Usually watermark stamps are used with clear embossing powder for a “watermark” look….it also serves as a resist…you can add inks over it to make the stamped design stand out.

  2. Love them both – so sad that the post was delayed! I have no idea about the Versamark Dazzle – I use Versamark + heat embossing powders or Versamark + glimmery powders or as a watermark type stamping ink (but you do need to heat set it or wait quite a long time for it to dry.

Leave a Reply

