Penthouse and Pavement

Standard

Well February is almost gone and this is only my second post.  I have been super busy again (including a trip to Bahrain and a hotel with a view of the Guest Palace, but more of that in another post) and sadly have had little time for crafting.  I did get a counterfeit kit together however; well how could I not when this month’s sample kit included a chevron paper so like the one I used on my London Underground pages and I not only have some left, but also the matching arrow paper.

The kit also made me think of some Making Memories 5th Avenue papers which have been sitting in my stash waiting to be used.  So here is my kit:

DSC_0256

I think I’ll call it Penthouse and Pavement after that iconic album by Heaven 17 and use it to scrap some more of my London photos.  I included some kraft journal spots I made for a previous counterfeit kit, to tie it into my London album, in which I am trying to include a kraft element on each page.

I started with a couple of photos taken in Leicester Square and a Shimelle staple – 2 4X6 photos and a page split into blocks with patterned paper.

DSC_0313

And then I was stuck with where to go next.  We’d gone to Leicester Square to start our first Mascot trail and it took us a while to spot the first statue, so adding some extra photos and a filmstrip diecut got me to here.

DSC_0434

It’s ended up looking like I’d used Shimelle’s latest sketch, don’t you think? I still have to work out how to add the journalling.  Strips or speech bubbles?  I considered outlining the title in black to make it stand out, but I kind of like the idea of it blending in and having to look a little harder, to complement the story.

For my second page I used another Shimelle sketch – this one from May 2011 which I had printed off and put inside my folder of sketches.  It was looking quite ordinary until I added the two red arrows, which work well with Puddle Duck’s red mac.

DSC_0433

I have a place for journalling on this one – I’m just not quite sure what to write.  I might add some more embellishments.  What do you think?

12 responses »

  1. Love how you used Shimelle’s sketches! I would go with journal strips on the first page. On the second page, I’d add some journaling on the green gingham tag and some enamel dots for a bit of fun…but then again, I’m adding those dots to everything lately. LOL! Someone else may have a better suggestion 😉

  2. I like it just the way it is, with the space for journaling to come. Those red arrows really draw your attention to the photo – that top one of the wet pavement and leaves is very well shot. Love the title of your stylish city kit :).

  3. Great idea to “hide” the title, really does help with the story telling. if you haven’t made a decision on the journaling yet I’d go with speech bubbles if you’ve got some quotes of things the kids said etc.
    You had the perfect things for the kit in your stash, and your pages are lovely.
    Thanks for joining in at CKC.

  4. I love how you “hid” the title! Brilliant idea. Your kit looks like a lot of fun to play with and you look well on your way with it. I agree with Angela on the speech bubbles. And I love the bright red arrows in the second layout!

  5. That is a great looking kit and some wonderful pages! My go-to embellishments these days are wood veneer pieces.

Leave a Reply

