The Long Wait

Standard

I’m not sure whether the title for this LO is related to the length of time we stood around outside Buckingham Palace waiting for the changing of the guards, or the length of time it took me from finding the sketch to having a finished page!  In fact it was so long ago I’ve forgotten where I found the sketch!  NOTE: I have found the original sketch – sketch number 61 at Sketches in Thyme.

DSC_0511

Here’s the saga – feel free to skip this paragraph if you wish: I found the sketch online, then I chose some photos but couldn’t find the print off of sketch.  Then I found the sketch but couldn’t remember where I’d put the photos.  Luckily I had both when I packed for the Bloggers’ Weekend.  I got down the basics while I was away – papers, photos and the two embellishment clusters, but it needed something else that wasn’t on the original sketch.  It needed flags. It needed a banner.

DSC_0512

I had some diamond shaped chipboard pieces left from the Ruby Rocket Vintedge collection I bought last year, so I cut those to make some bunting.  That wasn’t quite enough, so I took my Dear Lizzie mini flag stamps and got to work making extra bits for the banner from scraps of paper. I wanted to add some more dimension and was about to just curl up the ends as I usually do, when I recalled a recent blog post where someone had demonstrated how to be a little more creative with paper curling.  So I gave it a whirl and I’m really please dhow it turned out.  I’m just sorry I can’t remember where I saw it so I could share the link and go thank them!

Since it was a Royal occasion I used a recurring crown theme.  The stamp on the banner is from the Portobello Road collection and the white crown on the red circle is a rub on from Memory Makers, to which I added a few gems for a bit of bling.  The badge is from Paperchase.

DSC_0513

Yvonne Yam is hosting a challenge with guest designer Anupama Choudary, to add a banner to your LO, so I think this should fit the bill.  Have you visited Yvonne’s blog?  You should – she makes the most adorable bright and glitzy off the page projects – as well as her lovely scrapbook pages.

And before I go, a message for all UK scrappers – pop into your local Home Sense or TKMaxx.  They have some AC goodies in.  I bagged this little lot, plus 5 D-ring albums and a prize for my forthcoming blogiversary.

DSC_0510

Happy Scrappy Shopping Peeps.

P.S. I used the Studio Calico roller stamp on kraft cardstock to cover up the date mistake on my last LO.  I think it worked quite well.

9 responses »

  1. your finished page looks fab Julie and the banner is just perfect for it with all the added extras. I visited my TK Maxx yesterday and sadly they didn’t have as much stuff as yours but managed to pick up a couple of things.

  2. You MADE that banner!!! WOW, I was admiring it & wondering where you’d got it from.
    Green with jealousy at your fabulous tkmaxx buys, especially the library style stamps.

  3. Oh wow! Just love how your banners unify the 2 pages so beautifully!

    Thanks for playing along with my guest Anupama’s challenge!:)

  4. I got about 8 of the items you managed from TK Maxx, would have loved the roller stamps. The page looks brilliant with the bunting, has definitely made the difference x

Leave a Reply

