Scrappy Snow Day in Spring?!

Standard

Given the time of year I should be starting this post with a sunny welcome to spring and a photo of some cheery spring flowers, but this is what I woke to on Friday morning.

DSC_0516

Brrr,  It has been snowing lightly but fairly steadily ever since and we never ventured out at all yesterday, which means that I did some scrapping and have a a little more to show you than the two pages I made last week.

I have found a lot of inspiration from sketches on the net and this page uses this month’s sketch from Sarah’s cards.

DSC_0515

Using the photo of Puddle Duck taken on the way to Buckingham Palace was a great way to use the cake case with the marching soldier (hope it’s acid free – guess I should have thought of that before I stuck it down!).  The rest of the papers and the flags added to the top of the photo help tie it into the LO in my last post, which will follow it in the album.  I think I may need to re-stick the check paper background paper; or get out the sewing machine and stitch a border.

My next page uses Shimelle’s Sketch to Scrapbook Page, which is designed to allow you to show off your favourite patterned paper.  I had a sheet of October Afternoon’s London map left from the Thrift Shop collection and Puddle Duck helped me pick the photo,

DSC_0514

I used some scraps from February’s counterfeit kit and did a some stamping and fussy cutting to make some embellishments.  I also used my new wooden hexagons to replace the circles from the sketch.

I put a little gem to mark the place where the photo was taken, but it was hard to find on the map.  I was looking for the Millenium Bridge which crosses the Thames between St Paul’s and Tate Modern, but it’s not on the map.

The next page I wanted to do involved some photos taken outside the Tate Modern to finish my February Counterfeit kit.

DSC_0521

I am not a big fan of Damien Hirst (or Tracy Emin for that matter) and I’m not sure whether this large statue really qualifies as art.  It just looks like a massive teaching aid to me but it did provide for interesting photos.

I tried to think of a witty title based on the photo of Puddle Duck sitting with a pair of massive buttocks for a headrest, but couldn’t come up with anything polite.  This uses the March sketch at the Studio Challenge blog, where Daphne has added a lovely twist of an added diagonal scatter of embellishment.  Her’s is lovely – I’m not sure I quite pulled it off.

Oh and the page is quite straight IRL.  I think it must be a combination of page curl and dodgy camera angle to get it looking so wonky.

This then left me with a problem wrt my album.   I have a pile of photos taken between the two spots, not enough scraps to give continuity between the pages and I have also calculated that at the current average photos per page my album will have over 100 pages!!!!

So I decided to add a divided page protector to fit the next two pages on the album:

DSC_0519

I will do a bit of research on St Paul’s before I add the journalling to this page.  And similarly here, perhaps some research on the bridge and some comments on modern art.

DSC_0520

The photo of the Globe snuck on because I had no more portrait photos and it is visible from the bridge – along the river bank from Tate Modern.  I’ve put some of my changing of th eguard photos in photo pockets too.  I think it may work.  Do you mix up 12 X 12 and divided pockets in your albums?  How do you deal with excessive numbers of photos?

Anyhows – I must be off.  Puddle Duck wanted to go to church for Palm Sunday and I need to dig a path down the drive to the car and check whether it’s going to happen.  Still snowing.  I may be forced to stay in again!

14 responses »

  1. loving your London album and it is coming on really well. I like the look of 12×12 and divided pages in the same album and keep meaning to do it myself! hope you got to church xxx

  2. Yes, I do mix mine up because I love that kind of a look in my albums. I’d rather have it than all my pages being the same size. What a great collection of stories you have pulled together here – I had a very enjoyable browse through them this morning

  3. Great layouts! I love map papers, and you put this one to a perfect use! I’m also a huge fan of divided page protectors, and use them a lot for travel layouts and albums.

  4. I really enjoy seeing current creations & seeing what puddle duck is up to. I can’t believe you have that snow! Hope u are keeping well.

  5. Spring has not arrived here yet, either. So ready for warmer temps. Love your pages! You’ve been a busy scrapper lately!

  6. You have some very arresting photos here! I really like the use if the map paper and the little marching soldier … I have stopped worrying about acid free bits, myself – as long as they are not under the photo! I don’t use divided page protectors but if I did I would just mix it all up, I think. I am pretty ruthless in getting rid of surplus photos but I don’t try to scrap them all and jus keep them in a folder on my hard disk. I do ‘t know if any of that helps!

  7. Thanks for joining in with the Sarah’s Cards challenge – love how you’ve used the soldier cake case!

Leave a Reply

