A Sketch with a Central Focus

Standard

Hello – I hope you all had a great Easter.  I know for some the Easter Holidays end tomorrow, but Puddle Duck still has a week at home.  I’m off soon to go to collect her from her Dad’s, where she has been since we returned from London.

I’m still working on last year’s London album and now I have a whole pile of new photos to scrap from our latest trip (what am I like?).  We spent three days in The Tower and Kensington Palace and finished off at the London Eye and London Aquarium.  I have 5 pairs of look up look down photos to share on 10th, but if you want a look at my photos before then you can see the album on Facebook, although I warn you there are a LOT of photos.

Meanwhile I have completed another LO with photos from last year, using a Shimelle sketch:

DSC_0450I really struggled with this.  I started with just the yellow check pattern in the central column and it just didn’t gel.  The problem was that there wasn’t any yellow anywhere else in the photo.  Then I remembered that I had the transparency with teal flowers and it worked a treat. I love it now – even though my attempts to remove and re-stick the stickers weren’t entirely successful.

I gave the LO an extra twist by including an interactive element.  The central column of hexagons are only adhered to the photo on the right, so that it can be lifted to reveal a third photo and some hidden journalling.  I wanted to include some sappy stuff about how Puddle Duck has grown and how beautiful she looks in this photo.  That kind of stuff doesn’t come easily to me and I like to keep it hidden.

DSC_0451Well I’d better get a move on if I want to call into the Craft Box at Elsecar on the way to collect Puddle Duck.  What are you up to this weekend?  Whatever it is – I hope you enjoy it.

5 responses »

  1. Ah, the sappy stuff is the most important, and glad it has a permanent place on your pretty page. That is a lovely reflective photo of her …

Leave a Reply

