A Day Late…

Standard

Hello.  I know I said that I would be back yesterday with the winner of the blog hop draw, but yesterday was rather busy.  More on that later, but for now I want to give a big thank-you to everyone who took part in the Pass the Page blog hop.  I did a draw and checked that the winner had commented on all the blogs (I actually started checking who had done all the comments but decided that was going to take far too long and was more likely to lead to mistakes), and can now announce that the winner is Jemma.  I’ll be putting your prize in the post this week.

So onto my busy day.  As you all know it was National Scrapbooking Day yesterday, so after dropping Puddle Duck off at her stage class, I went off to the crop at Bromsgrove – armed with my Counterfeit kit for May.  It was the first time ever that I arrived early and the new caretaker hadn’t turned up to open up.  After a belated start I got down to photographing my kit(s):

IMAG0536

I saw lots of spots and stripes in red, white, black and blue in the original kit.  A chalkboard paper, a yellow floral print (which I have in my stash), anchors, pegs, buttons, twine and washi tape.

I knew I had most of that in my stash so pulling a kit together wasn’t too hard.  One thing did bother me however, and that was that the papers were all single colours – no paper combining all of them, so I added a sheet from my Royal Caribbean Cruise collection.  I threw in some cruise stickers and 3D embellies, some journalling cards, wooden boats and flair style buttons for my Cruise Line kit.

IMAG0537In the second kit i saw a beige spot, yellow herringbone and pale blue text.  I had a sheet of the first and a scrap of the second. I thought I could use a dark blue star scape instead of the oscilliscope pattern and found a pale blue cruise text pp while i was looking for it.  So that was the paper sorted.

IMAG0538

The embellishments were a little harder and I settled for twine, wood veneer car, a cut apart journalling sheet from 4heures37 -called Eiffel Avenue and a sticker sheet from Authentic – called Loyal. And my Star Gazer kit is done.

All I need now are some alphas – queue American Crafts Thickers, Webster Pages Story Tellers and some Papermania foam letters and I had two kits to take to the crop. With all those cruise based papers and embellishments I pulled out some photos from my 2010 cruise, a couple of photos from Legoland’s Pirates’ Landing and last year’s trip to the Museums in London. I went with the Glitter Girl limited supplies approach so that I could unpack and re-pack quickly and not spend too much time deliberating, because I had to leave early to collect Puddle Duck and take her to her friend’s birthday party.

I managed to get one LO done barring the journalling and another almost complete. I finished when I got home with a little heavier weight twine (well, nearer cord really).

IMAG0539I already have a number of pages of the Water Park at Labadee in the album, so it doesn’t really need a title and journalling.  I’m linking this up with Shimelle’s 18th NSD challenge to use the power of three.  Three embellishments around two 4X6 photos is something I do quite often now thanks to Shimelle.  Here I have three red and white circles with an anchor.

I have a couple more pages to show you from yesterday, but I think I will spread the posts over the week.  Hope you had a fun crafty day yesterday.  What did you create?

Post Script – also linking up to challenge to use 4X6 photos because we can combine challenges and enter each challenge more than once.  Hurrah!

9 responses »

  1. Hi Julie, well done on your page, it looks lovely. I have you as the person to send to on Sian’s Great Big swap of small things so could you please send me your address and I’ll hopefully get it out this week. Small blogging world that I find your blog the week before and comment for the first time and then you are the person I am sending to. Enjoy the bank holiday, Joanne

Leave a Reply

