A LO for a Star Gazer

Standard

Happy Bank Holiday Monday.  Do you have that where you live – or is it a UK only thing?  I took Puddle Duck to church yesterday for the Crowning of Our Lady.  She took a spray of white chrysanthemums to lay by Mary’s statue at the front of the church.  Then we went to The Grandma’s for a very late family dinner.  I think today will be a lazy day.

But on with the scrapbooking. Here’s the second layout I have to show you from the crop on Saturday, using my Counterfeit kit for May:

DSC_0526I mixed the two kits up a bit – using the spots from my Cruise Line kit with my Star gazer kit.  I really struggled with a title.  I couldn’t remember where we were in the Natural History Museum when I took these photos.  The background paper is of the night sky, which is what is on the walls of this room and I had star buttons and metal brad so i finally hit on Star Gazer.  I added the journalling after I had found Puddle Duck’s guidebook and discovered that it was the Earth Hall.  I also doodled some lines around the journal and title blocks.  Something I find myself doing more and more right now – wonder where that came from all of a sudden?

I’m linking this up to Shimelle’s second NSD challenge to use 4 X 6 photos (I nearly always do because it’s the smallest size that is easy to order!).  I have some more to share during the week and I am currently struggling with the divide your page challenge.  I’m using a mix of full 12 X 12s and divided pages in my London album.  With what I have done so far, my Shrek photos fall on a divided page.  I have got this far and I am not feeling the love:

DSC_0527I just don’t know where to go from here.  Should I try the photos one above the other with the pale blue above the stripes?  Or just use different papers?  Any ideas?

Me thinks it may be time to put it to one side and try something else.  And I do have lots to go at, having bought even more pp yesterday.  If there is a TKMaxx or Home Sense near you, it is well worth a visit right now – lots of Crate Paper and AC paper pads, pens, ribbon, date stamps and loads more.

I’m off to get out my mists – do you think I should get dressed and eat breakfast first?

9 responses »

  1. Happy BH Monday to you too. A great star gazer layout – i’m using the 4×6 page protectors at the moment and am finding them quite the challenge. Have fun x

  2. Good morning Julie I love seeing your pages as they are always so gorgeous and this one is no exception. I can see you are using some of yr new TK MAxx bargains…..I couldn’t resist buying some new yummy stash and will be clearing out some of the old!! Enjoy the rest of the Bank Holiday xxx

  3. Hope you’ve enjoyed your day..love that first layout..hope you get inspiration for the other one soon…I have avoided divided page protectors so far…call me a coward!
    Alison xx

  4. your star gazer layout is really lovely. I love the darker colours and I’m a sucker for stars and constellations and stuff! Hope you had a great BH. Over here we had ours last Wednesday but crazy as it sounds, we have another one this Thursday!

  5. Gorgeous page – love the mix of colours. Not a fan of divided page protectors myself – I think I’d rather just scrap in a grid fashion on a 12×12 and not be restricted to the format of the plastic.

    Hope you enjoyed your BH weekend – just back from visiting my first-born in Newcastle.

  6. Great job using your kit!!! Thanks for the tip on TJMaxx. If I were you, I would eat breakfast first 🙂

  7. Lovely first layout!! The divided layout is quite blue and the photos are quite green, maybe add some window dressing in green to the blue papers. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

