Tidying up those Scraps.

Standard

Well I’m off work now until the end of the school holidays and I was intending to get some tidying up done around the house before taking Puddle Duck away for a few days.  Well that tidying is is going extremely slowly.  The plan was to start by moving my mountains of stash from the dining room floor and table into the craft room where they are supposed to be.

Sounds simple enough, but how can you move that gorgeous stash without looking through the part finished albums and trying to sort out the scraps.  And then there’s the ooh and the aah and the ‘I forgot I had that’ and before you know it you’re sitting on the living room floor half way through another layout.

DSC_0583That photo has been waiting to be scrapped since the end of Year 1 (or is it Reception Class?) and Puddle Duck starts Year 5 next month!! I used the last full sheet from the last Counterfeit kit I did, a transparency that is almost as old as the photo and some scraps. The line of birds is a piece of washi tape I got at the blogger’s scrapping weekend from Fay.

It didn’t feel quite finished so I slept on it, did some fussy cutting and a bit of stitching and voila!

DSC_0584The other thing I did was to go through my London Album from last year.  I still had stacks of photos in packets, so I moved all the pages into a large D-ring album and sorted all the photos into pockets, with embellishments or papers I’d already picked out for them.

I had four vertical photos in a pocket facing this page, which you may remember from a Counterfeit kit and Soul Scrappers sketch last year:

SC56 Poser in the ParkI had two tiny scraps of that border paper left (I gutted the background so that I could use it on other LOs) – and used Shimelle‘s 4X6 Photolove placement.  I struggled for so long with the scraps from that old kit, trying to decide what to use for the flap – until I found the map was used during the holiday in my album kit.  Then it all fell into place:

DSC_0585And the hidden photo revealed:DSC_0586And I’ve actually done the journalling.

Thanks to Ruth for the loan of her punch at the Bloggers Crafting Weekend – so glad I punched a few of those lovely lacey circles for this album.  And I will link up with the Counterfeit kit club, since they have a challenge to use up your left over scraps.

I think now that I have the album planned out a little it will be easier to dip in and get pages done.  But I think it’s time to put it away in the craft room for now – this house won’t tidy itself!

5 responses »

  1. This would work for the first challenge as well, to hide something on your page!
    Clever titles – sounds like you have this ready to have a sit & work on the rest of the album.

  2. I love how your pale yellow background adds happiness on your first layout !
    Your squirrel layout is awesome, love the patterned frame and how it works so well with the photos.

Leave a Reply

