2014 – A Productive Start

Standard

Hello.  I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

I’ve been away a while I know.  Blogging always falls off for me during December and this year I was further hampered by a failed hard drive which I had to have replaced. (So much for Apple’s fabled reliability!).  My subsequent return has been further hindered by losing the camera battery charger and the obstinate refusal of my new hard drive to communicate with my new Smart phone.  But the camera is finally charged and now that I have managed to get the photos off my phone I can share my Counterfeit kit for January.

This month we are challenged to counterfeit this kit from Hip Kit Club.

I took my normal first impressions approach and scribbled some notes on a scrap of paper before heading to my stash and here’s my version:

Image 1Now that I see the two side by side it looks nothing like to me.  I usually counterfeit on colour and pattern but the mint of the original is absent.  I’ve since thrown in a few additional embellishments and you’ll see those along the way.

Now that I’ve started using it, it feels to me almost as if I have two kits – one snowy and Christmassy with a touch of pink and the other more yellow/orange based.  Plus I have a mix of white and cream based papers which could be a challenge, but seems to be working out as full of opportunity.

Here’s a closer look at the papers:

Image 2I have two sheets of that pink snowflake paper from BoBunny and they have already been turned into a double page LO, which will follow in another post.  I couldn’t decide on which grey wood pattern or which chevron to include so they all went in. I also have two frame patterns – one whole sheet and one which is closer to the kit but has already been cut up.  I also have two diagonal stripes – the one bottom right is my own counterfeit.  So easy it’s a sheet of Kraft card stock with strips of wash tape stuck on.

ImageUber easy but pretty effective I think and already used up.  There are more ideas for making your own kit elements on the Counterfeit kit blog.

In all I’ve done 3 single pages and one double from this kit or far, but rather than overload you with them all now, I think I’ll tease and post them individually.  So which would you like to see first:

  • My snowy double page?
  • What I did with my Christmas counterfeit stripes?
  • My round up for 2013?
  • Shimelle’s sketch?

 

 

 

9 responses »

Leave a Reply

