A Boy and A Shed

Standard

There’s a shed half way up my parents’ garden.  It holds the usual garden paraphernalia you would expect.  But years ago things were very different.  It sat a lot nearer the house, at the back of the garage.  Open the door and you would find a play house with a row of jars with water and rose petals – my latest experiment, trying to make perfume.  I think my ‘Whimsies’ collection was housed on the ledge above the back window.

The only reminder of those days is a solitary photo of my L’il Bro.  From the appalling angle you might think it was a selfie, but I really don’t think his arms were that long!

Kev n shed

I’ve noticed the expression ‘clean and simple’ (or CAS) popping up in comments lately, and maybe that’s the way I scrap, but a boy and a shed require something a little grungier, so here we have the Scrap365 sketch with loads of layers, scrunching of papers and distress inked edges.

A Boy and a ShedI made a pocket to hold the journalling card.  Can you spot it?  If I ever get round to it I think I’ll machine stitch round the edge, but my machine is playing up and I don’t want to risk it.

Here’s the sketch, I think it could get used again…………

I’m also linking this up to Scrap Our Stash, for the layering challenge.  They are having a Scrap A Thon to celebrate their first birthday.  Why not pop over and take a look?

12 responses »

  1. I really love this one. The tone with the blues/greens, the vintage square photo (like the ones from my childhood) & all the layering. Well done.

  2. This is an adorable layout. I am a layer girl myself (used to not be so much but lovin’ it more and more every day) so this layout really caught my eye! Never would have seen the pocket if not for the little thumb notch – well hidden!

  3. Fun layout, well done for getting a photo scrapped that may not be the ‘perfect’ shot but certainly holds a lot of memories! I love the moustache on your page! Thank you for joining in at Scrap365! x

  4. Fabulous page! Great job on the layering challenge! Thank you for playing along in our Stash A Thon at Scrap our Stash!

Leave a Reply

