Can You See the Birdie?

Standard

So, as promised, here’s my first post in the new plan; my first Technique Tuesday.  I said I’d be dusting off unused tools and I’m starting with not one, but two which hadn’t even made it out of the packaging until I made this page!

It all started with a recipe challenge at Soul Scrappers – do something different with twine and include leaves and embossed card stock.  I have a lot of twine and I had a photo and a story I wanted to tell. The story involved my early attempts at photography, so I broke into the Amy Tangerine embroidery stencil I picked up from TKMaxx for a fiver and stitched a camera direct onto the background using bakers twine.

DSC_0643I also added a brad and a vellum frame to the camera.  Thanks to Master Forger Millisa for the idea of stamping onto the frame.

I picked Amy Tangerine papers from the Ready Set Go collection, including a leaf print but I was struggling to work in any of my embossed card stock.  So I decided to use my dry embossing kit for the every first time and I embossed a leaf into the bottom right of the page.  It wasn’t as easy as I imagined.  It’s hard to find the groove in the metal stencil and you can see I nearly went through the card.  If anyone can tell me the best surface to dry emboss on I’ll be grateful and think this post worthwhile.

DSC_0642

And so the story –  a school trip to Slimbridge Wildfowl Trust.  I was getting into photography so I took my camera and spent the day snapping away quite happily:  my friends taking a drink break, numerous geese and a brightly coloured mandarin duck spied between some straw coloured reeds. I eagerly awaited the return of my processed prints, but imagine my disappointment.  Mom had decided that colour film was wasted on me and had put B&W film in my camera.  And that brightly coloured duck just blended into the background in black and white.  Some things just have to be seen in colour!

DSC_0641

Another memory scrapped for my Childhood Memories Album and two tools used for the first time. That makes me one happy scrapper!

6 responses »

  1. I really like how the camera turned out too. I’m hoping to get to TK Maxx within the next couple of days – must have a look at the scrapbooking shelf

  2. love all the colours you have used Julie in this page kind of echoes the 1970’s colours and patterns I think. Looking forward to seeing you in September so I can get all the inspiration first hand xxx

Leave a Reply

