Tell me the Dreams that Surround You

Standard

DSC_0680I’ve got an ear worm (or at least I think that’s what they’re called).  Ever since I started thinking of the journalling for today’s page I can’t get this song out of my head:

Where do you go to my lovely.
When you’re alone in your bed?
Tell me the dreams that surround you,
I want to look inside your head.

It all started over at the Counterfeit Kit Challenge blog.  There’s a different tack this month. Instead of a kit to copy they have picked a CSI (Colour, Story, Inspiration) file to inspire a kit:

DSC_0677You may already be aware that I have limited access to my stash, but I did have enough to be able to pull together a page kit with some Dear Lizzie Neapolitan papers and stickers and a couple of Studio Calico 6 X 6 pads – Take Note and Darling Dear; wood veneer shapes and green buttons. I had a photo of Puddle Duck, fast asleep in the car after her first big performance on a real stage, in front of a  a proper fee paying audience, rather than the small group of parents she had been used to. So I can journal about sleep and dreams (hence the song).

The ‘evidence’ includes pleats and ruffles, so I thought I’d try a technique from Susan Stringfellow for a pleated border around my page, which I found on the Carta Bella website.

I started with a piece of card stock I knew that I would not be using EVER.  I then cut 1 inch wide strips from my 6 X 6 pads and scraps to match the colour scheme on the mood board.  I took a strip at a time, inked one edge and put double sided tape on the back.  I then applied the strip to the edge of the page, folding and pleating as I went.  I mitred the corners to give a neater finish with less bulk.  Then I trimmed the music paper from the Dear Lizzie Neapolitan paper pad to 10.5 X 10,5 inches, stuck it in the middle and then machine stitched it in place.

Then it all came together using the Scrap 365 sketch:

(Sorry the sketch is so big – WordPress have changed something with inserting URLs for pictures and I can’t control the size any more).

So here’s my page:

DSC_0681

I don’t have much in the way of photos from that evening – and it was quite a big night. I think I can perhaps get another page to tell a different part of the story, but until then I have another story told in my album and another technique tried.

DSC_0678

11 responses »

  1. Well you’ve given your ear worm to me now! As soon as I read the post title! Reinforced by the lyrics LOL

    Love that technique – great little series you have going here Julie – TFS
    As for the page – it’s beautiful – great little snap and lovely use of the sketch with some touching journalling.

  2. Wow! the pleated edge is a cool idea 🙂 I’ll be checking that out 🙂 Love your layout, beautiful and the lyrics page is perfect for it 🙂

  3. wonderful! I love the jar on the right side! thank you for playing along with us at Scrap365!
    hugs xxx
    SandraP

  4. I am singing away now too!! What a beautiful layout and such a brilliant interpretation of the sketch 🙂 Thank you so much for playing along with us Scrap365; personally I love the huge picture of the sketch 😉 Ali x

  5. Wow the pleated border looks fabulous and I love the atmospheric title! Thanks so much for joining in the Scrap 365 Challenge! x

Leave a Reply

