Watercolours and Homemade ‘Enamel’ Dots

Standard

Welcome to a double Technique Tuesday, where I have used two techniques.  I dusted off my watercolours and tried out this cool idea for making enamel dots from plastic beads.  To say we have a few of these beads in our house could be described as an understatement!

DSC_0683

We got these huge jars from Ikea, with a set of peg boards in different shapes. Puddle Duck has made a few coasters and pictures but it’s barely made a dent in the content of the jars.  She was definitely up for using them to make enamal dots and helped lay them out on the baking parchment.

It’s a good idea to have a flat sheet – ours was crinkly so they kept falling over and moving when another bead was placed.  The Citrus Twist website has 325 degrees as the temperature.  Since it’s an American site I guess that’s in Fahrenheit (my oven doesn’t go up that high), so I converted to Centigrade/Celsius – it’s around 165 degrees for UK and European readers.

DSC_0688

It doesn’t take long for the beads to start melting.  I left them in a little longer than 30 minutes because some of them stayed as rings rather than forming dots.  It seemed to be particular colours so I will put them on their side next time to see if I can get a better result.  The translucent beads worked better than the solid colours – maybe it’s a different plastic.

Some came out as ovals rather than circles and those which were too close together came out in interesting shapes.  Puddle Duck likes the mis-shapes – especially the rings.

DSC_0674They stick really easily with a dab of tacky glue.  I’ve already used some on two LOs and Puddle Duck used three as drawer handles on a table she made for her Monster High dolls.

The LO I have to share today is one of those with enamel dots and a bit of watercolour painting.  You’ll know by now that I don’t really go in for the messy paint effects, so my use of watercolour is very restrained and traditional.  I started with a sheet of Amy Tangerine sketchbook paper which featured outlines of flowers and the sketched cameras.  I painted the flowers and two cameras, cut out the cameras and then adhered them with the flowers – one using pop dots to give a 3D embellishment.

I used a selection of photos, printed at 2 X 3 from a day trip to London we had during the Whitsun Bank Holiday last year.  Rather than a single large journalling card I used pieces of cards tucked under the photos to provide a commentary of what we did that day.

DSC_0695

I added a bicycle paper clip, so that covers all the criteria for this month’s challenge at Scrap Our Stash.

DSC_0673I just have the journalling and final embellishment to finish on that second LO ready to share on Sunday.  And I’ve managed to photograph my counterfeit kit too.

Enjoy your Easter Holidays.

 

19 responses »

  1. That’s a fun technique – thanks for sharing and for the hints & tips.
    Love the page Julie – I’m also of the “reserved and traditional” persuasion, when it comes to paint; but that doesn’t mean it has to be boring or dull – your layout looks fabulous!

  2. Great page – love the “pile” of photos. There was a sneak peek earlier so I was excited to see how your melting worked out. We have a box of beads upstairs somewhere … you’re tempting me to have a play as it’s WAY cheaper than buying proper enamel dots.

  3. I saw this technique last week and can’t wait to try it myself-I’m glad you gave us some pointers! love the layout and the cute bike clippee 🙂 Love all the overlapping of the photos-it still looks clean and contemporary! Kate (Scrap Our Stash)

  4. Interesting that your Ikea ‘hama’ beads worked when the read ones didn’t. I’m going to have to try again… off to find someone with a stash of ikea beads 🙂

  5. I love how you have scrapped all those photo’s! Such a fun and pretty layout. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful spring inspired page with us at Scrap Our Stash. xx

  6. Wonderful page and great job on the challenge! Thank you so much for playing along with us at Scrap Our Stash!

  7. I really love how your put so many picture and stay so clean and fun! Thank you for playing along with us at Scrap Our Stash!

  8. I totally love this!! I love all the photos and overlapping…the pieces of the sketchy paper from Amy Tan peeking out. Love the hand journaling and the title! Thanks for playing along with Scrap Our Stash!

  9. Love all the photos! Great way to incorporate several photos onto one layout! I must try this! Thanks for playing along with us at Scrap Our Stash!

  10. Wow! This is a fabulous layout. Love that paper clip. And that’s a great way to make enamel dots. Thank you for joining us at Scrap Our Stash.

Leave a Reply

