She Made an Easter Bonnet

Standard

I’m not sure whether finally getting round to using the second half of my oversized Jenni Bowlin butterfly rub on counts as a technique. In any event I am one day early for Technique Tuesday so that I can link this LO with Relly’s weekly challenge at Shimelle.com. Relly is providing maternity cover while Shimelle adjusts to a new life with a baby. I’m looking forward to seeing Shimelle style baby boy scrapping, are you?

So here’s my LO using my Counterfeit kit – a companion page for my Egg Hunt page I made with the same kit.

Easter Bonnet

The page curled where I added the border strip, so please excuse the wonky photo – it will flatten in my album.

The background already had the two pennants in the top RH corner and I liked the subtle circles of dots across the bottom to help ground the central block. However, by the time I had applied the transfer and adhered the pp, photos and title the page looked unbalanced. I tried lots of things but nothing worked until I hit on the idea of a border strip to echo the colours in the pennants and it worked!

I’ve looked at adding embellishments and got out all of my mists, Stickles and Liquid Pearls in toning colours but I can’t think how to apply them without distracting from what I have – so I’ll call this done (although I have added the location and date since I took the photo).

And I’m also linking up to Frosted Designs Spring challenge – since I have used the word Easter in the title and a yellow and green colour scheme.

10 responses »

  1. I always admire your scrapping style Julie – this is no exception. I love this! The hat’s pretty fab too – like mother, like daughter? XX

Leave a comment