Contrasting Styles.

Standard

I have a real contrast in styles to share today.  Both could qualify for a Technique Tuesday post but there are a challenge deadlines to meet, so here they are on Saturday.

For the Scrap 365 sketch I decided that a 90 degree twist with the arrow pointing up would be perfect for my photos from The Banqueting House.

DSC_0483

I had a real struggle choosing the background paper.  I wanted to use an elegant, regal black but had nothing in my stash.  I ended up with this Beautiful sheet from 4 Gypsies Lille collection and settled for the black wash with a crown print and splashes of gold ink.  I painted the chipboard letter with the same gold ink and cut an arrow by eye – embossing with gold.

By way of complete contrast I finally got round to scrapping some photos from our Disney trip in 2006 – using only primary colours for the Counterfeit kit NSD challenge and a sketch from Disney Scrappers.

DSC_0482

That’s the only piece of primary blue paper I own, so the banner ended up a little limited.  I tried to add more blue with the embellishment and blue ink for the stamping.  I hope the white in the pp and for the journalling is an acceptably low amount.  That stitching was hard work through three layers of pp and the photo.  I’ll be using a thimble if I ever try it again.

I’m off to enjoy what remains of my peace and quiet before I have to collect Puddle Duck from the Brownies 100 years birthday event at the Black Country Museum.

P.S. I’ve also had my LO featured on Creative Scrappers and picked as a top 3 on Frosted Designs!  And so nice to read the comments about my journalling which is what I always find hardest about a layout.

9 responses »

  1. Love the photos of the Banquetting House – what a wonderfully ornate ceiling! Good choices for the page – backgrounds can be surprisingly tricky (I remember spending ages searching for “the right colour” as a background for a page, in the end, it was a totally unexpected plain coloured sheet worked out right). The gold touches are nice too.
    And I love the Disney page. Lots of nice little extras, especially the hand-stitched arrow. Just a hint about the sewing – if you can get to a craft shop, or sewing shop, you could buy a paper pricking tool – a needle in a handle – which makes it much easier to make holes (or a bradawl from the diy shop!). Then you pre-prick your sewing holes with that tool – using a thick wodge of newspaper or similar underneath your layers of card; when you come to stitching, it is so much quicker and easier to do!

    • Lizzie I had already pre-pricked the holes – just not large enough for the eye of the needle which needed to be quite big to take the twine.

  2. Wow! Love the two styles…both of them are fabulous 🙂 You have really showcased the sketch to perfection! Thank you so much for joining us at Scrap365, Ali x

  3. Well done 🙂

    I love the two different styles because it shows how much you have thought about the photos and working to bring out their mood

Leave a Reply

