Dusting off a Die Set

Standard

This post is dedicated Ruth and Anne.  Ruth was the first person to use my set of London dies when we went to Milton Keynes for a Bloggers’ Weekend.  I have to confess that they haven’t been used since and maybe they wouldn’t have been for this project if Anne Pennington hadn’t just joined the Design Team at Black With Two.

DSC_0478

I first ‘met’ Anne when we were on the Scrapbookers’ Anonymous Design Team together.  Since that site closed, Anne has been running her own challenge site – Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge (two challenges a month – one theme based and one sketch) and I join in from time to time. This is her first month on the DT at Black With 2 and it’s an unusual one – black plus slate grey and pearl grey.  I knew I would need colourful photos to make it work and I thought of the ones I took at Easter of the changing lights on Southwark Bridge.

Well, then it kind of snowballed (as my ideas often do).  There’s a rainbow challenge at the Counterfeit kit Blog for NSD and a series of small photos give me a rainbow.  Then combine London photos, with the sketch top right:

4 of 12 Creative Scrappers Birthday Sketches.

from Creative Scrappers and the aforementioned dies and the contents of my scrap box and you get this:

DSC_0474

Have you got something hiding in your stash that you bought and have never used?  Why not dig it out and give it a whirl.

13 responses »

  1. Love how the photos pop against the black and gray background.:)
    I’ve lots of stuff. Recently I’ve been buying organizational storage for them…it never ends…lol

  2. how did you find using the die? i remember it being a bit fiddly! But I have used the die cut papers for a birthday card and for a scrapbook page! Well done on this page Julie it is very clever

    • I’m glad you got to use the pieces you cut in Milton Keynes. I only used the three skyline dies for this and had two issues – one was that I wasn’t paying attention when I placed the die and cut in the wrong place; the other was getting some of th smaller pieces out of the cut shape and the die itself. I think it’s the bus, lamppost and taxi which are really fiddly and I haven’t used them yet.

  3. So sweet, Julie – I’ve never had a layout dedicated to me! This is a stunning layout – and you are right – the bright photos really set it off!!! Thanks so much for playing along with Black With Two!!!

  4. Lovely layout Julie. Love the layout and I love the background paper. Thanks for playing with at BW2

Leave a Reply

