A Stamping Rescue Mission

Standard

Welcome back to Technique Tuesday and this week I’d like to share a LO rescued from the brink of disaster by a bit of background stamping.

I had a couple of photos ofPuddle Duck taken in the same place in Alice’s Curious Labyrinth at Disneyland Paris – taken almost eight years apart.  I thought May’s sketch at Studio Challenges would be a good place to start, but when I’d finished I just was not happy.

DSC_0856

Everything seems too close to the bottom of the page and I think it could have done with smaller photos; but the worst part is the way the journalling just hangs over the edge of the photo, leaving that awkward space to the right of the photos.  If I couldn’t come up with a fix I was seriously considering binning it and printing new (smaller) photos to scrap.  I thought of a line drawn round the edge, but the doily is too close to the edge of the page for that to work.  And then I spotted it sitting on my table; a wooden stamp of a girl’s face (Little Lulu by Paperbagstudios.com) which I bought at Puddle Duck’s insistence and have never used.

I got out my grey Stazon ink and covered the photos and journalling with scrap paper before stamping partial images of the face to fill the gaps.  It was looking better, but inevitably left a gap at the edge of the photo where the subtle change in level prevented the stamp from connecting with the base card.  Could I leave it and pretend it was meant to be like that or was there another way to cover it up?  And then I spotted a glittery black chipboard bracket amongst the pieces I’d pulled out.

DSC_0857

It has no relation to the rest of the LO and I would never have thought of using it in this way if I hadn’t had the gap to fill, but I think it works and brings a kind of artsy feel to the LO.  What do you think?  Have you run any rescue missions for your LOs?

I haven’t managed to do any of Jennifer’s challenges for her Refresh Your Craft blog weekend, but she did list using unloved stamps as one of the inspirations in her craft room sort out post.  I need all the inspiration I can get for using my stamps!!  The challenges are open until midnight Saturday 15th if you want to give them a whirl. You can find all the posts here.

2 responses »

  1. Ooh, great way to rescue a layout and use an unloved stamp! It really fits the theme of the page too with her peeking through the playing cards! I love the red washi tape on here too. Thank you for joining in the challenge at Jennifer Grace Creates! x

Leave a Reply

