10 is a Big Deal

Standard

Puddle Duck thought that turning ten was a big deal. “I shall be in double figures for the rest of my life.  I’ll never be in singles again” she said.  So when she said “I’ll be ten in ten days” I had to take a photo there and then to scrapbook.

DSC_0026

I’m posting this Technique Tuesday a little early to make sure I make he deadline for Creative Scrappers.  This is their sketch I used.

I thought, rather than sticking a piece of patterned paper as the central block, I would try a background stamp.  I had a 6 X 6 urban stamp from Papermania.  It’s not that easy to use – even with a large acrylic block.  It needs a perfectly flat surface and you have to make sure that you have pressed down all over the surface.  One thing I have learned is that the little table I use while sitting on the sofa is not perfectly flat – I’ll be doing background stamping elsewhere in future.

I started with a sheet of plain white American Crafts card stock and then stamped my background with Stazon ink in Slate Grey.  I find Stazon gives a crisper image than some other inks.  Then I double matted my photo with paper from my June counterfeit kit and built the page from there.

DSC_0023

The page didn’t look quite right at first, with everything in a central strip and the photo and title seemed to be floating.  I think adding the patterned photo corners helps to confine it and define the boundary of the page.  It anchors it all. I’ll have to remember that idea – I wouldn’t have thought of it if it weren’t for those photo corners in the kit.

This isn’t the first time I’ve used this stamp.  This is the Father’s Day card I made this year.  I hadn’t realised this stamp could be so versatile.

DSC_0861

6 responses »

  1. I really like the stamped background on this..and yes I’m the same: always discovering after the fact that a flat service is essential. I’ve also found out that using a CD cover instead of an acrylic block works some of the time, but not all of the time!

  2. Pingback: Beware of the Teenager | Letting the Days Roll By.......

Leave a Reply

