Inspiration from Stash New and Old

Standard

Isn’t it amazing how buying some new stash fuels your creativity and gets you scrapping again (or is that just me?). I have stacks of pretty papers but I couldn’t resist buying four new pads when I spotted them in TKMaxx. Then I spotted this challenge from Master Forger Lisa on her Whimsical Musings site – be inspired by Native American designs. And what could be more perfect for that than my new Wanderlust papers from Studio Calico and some photos of Puddle Duck and her friends canoeing?

I’ve had this two page spread by Melissa Stinson pinned to my Scrapbook Inspiration Pinterest Board for a year:

harpers ferry.jpg

I used Melissa’s page like a sketch and pulled out the Indian blanket print, canoes, wigwams, arrows and a spotted green from the Wanderlust pad and then a couple of co-ordinating stripes from Studio Calico’s Printshop pad which I’d bought at the same time. Throw in some wood veneer and sequins, a bit of fussy cutting, a bottle top and a bird and feather from a sheet of Mambi pp and it all came together pretty quickly:

DSC_0967_3

I wish I could go back and put those 6 X 6 mats straight.  It seemed such a good idea at the time and looked great before the photos went on!  Maybe I’ll find a journal card to go in where Melissa put hers and then it won’t be so obvious.

Some of the scraps have found themselves into my October Counterfeit kit. This month we are counterfeiting this kit from Hey Little Magpie (Sarah’s Cards as was):

Vintage Floral

I was pleased when I first saw it; because I have some of those papers and the Maggie Holmes sticker sheet, but the rest of the embellishments proved more challenging and I’m not sure what to do for alphas. Anyway here’s my take:

DSC_0968

And just the papers:

DSC_0969

The blue woodgrain and aqua/green floral I only had in 6X6 unfortunately.  I think I’ll still add some flowers to the blue woodgrain though. I’ll be adding as I go – card stock and alphas etc., but that’s not cheating because the more stash gets used up the better right? I judge the success of a kit by how much it’s used and how many pages I make.  My most successful was in blues and greens with a pop of yellow but second was a kit with similar colours to this so I am hopeful for plenty inspiration this month.

P.S. Just remembered – this is my 200th post.

P.P.S. I’ve noticed in comments that a couple of people have commented ‘LOs’ in the plural, despite the fact that the text clearly states that the first LO is not my work. I would like to make it clear that the First picture ‘Harper’s Ferry’ is the work of Melissa Stinson (aka Scrappyjedi), which I have scrap lifted. I would not like to take credit for someone else’s work.

10 responses »

  1. Congrats on your 200th post! A definitely scrapworthy milestone :~)
    You’ve done a bang-up job with your kit & as you said, this color scheme was a hit for you before so you should be able to kill this kit this month.

  2. Congrats on 200 posts – yippee!! I like the page you’ve lifted, well done, the touch of Native American patterns was a success, and I like the 6 x 6 on a slant too. And your kit is spot on. Well done, yippee!!

  3. Love you interpretation of Melissa’s layout!! I must say I am a little upset with you now…I am on a no spend challenge for October and now I want to head out to TJMazz to see what types of scrapbooking supplies they have there…ugh!!! LoLoL!! I do love the kit you put together!! PS Happy 200th!

  4. I’m not surprised you pinned Harpers Ferry, it’s gorgeous, as is your take.
    Love your kit. I was unsure on alphas too but just decided to give myself free rein to use any 😀

Leave a Reply

