Scrap365 – Case Closed

Standard

DSC_0031

Scrap365 has announced that it is closing it’s doors (or should that be Windows?). I remember when the magazine first came out with the lovely Sian Fair as one of the designers. I remember telling her that I was reluctant to submit a LO for publication, since the twice I had done so in the past the magazines had folded the edition after I submitted. She said I shouldn’t let that stop me, so I did and I had this LO published in 2012: DSC_0058And then this one in 2013: DSC_0041I had this one accepted this year for a gallery on using fabric, but the  magazine went out of print before it was published: DSC_0418

DSC_0042The blog continued and I entered the sketch challenge from time to time. I knew I had no chance of ever winning anything, since the DT and site was all mixed media, shabby chic and pile it on scrapbooking, which is as far from my style as you can get. Only Jennifer flew the flag for a cleaner scrapbooking style. But I enter these things for the challenge not the prize.

The other regular challenge at S365 was in conjunction with CSI (Colour, Stories, Inspiration). This month the colours fitted with my Counterfeit kit, so I pulled in some orange and grey washi and embellishments and took up the challenge.

The photo reminded me of childhood holidays. Getting in the car and off to the caravan in Wales. I wanted to include a banner made from the scraps of material I picked up from Lizzie during a challenge at the Bloggers Weekend. I picked a sketch from my Pinterest Board, which included a banner and was perfect for the old photos I had. Do any of you remember Trifca? You got three copies of a photo printed on one sheet – one large and two small wallet sized pics. I had a pack from the caravan and this is how it all turned out:

DSC_0022 There was a sequin challenge over at Soul Scrappers, so I posted it there too and it’s been picked as a featured layout.  I did a bit of that fancy stitching too. DSC_0038It’s funny how the original kit was autumnal, but mine has inspired me to produce spring and summer LOs.  Oh well, seven LOs and a card – I’d call that another successful Counterfeit Kit and now I’m all ready for December’s.  Maybe I’ll try it with Scrap365’s final sketch.

6 responses »

  1. Hey, it’s great to see my scraps being put to such good use! Love all the layouts you submitted – so cheerful and balanced. I like your sparer, less “frilly” style – was never a fan of piling loads of stuff on a page anyway. And I remember those photos with a large & two smaller copies!

  2. Well done on getting published every year! Your pages are all the nicer for their clean but bright and interesting look. I like that subtle banner very much …

  3. Lovely, lovely layouts 🙂 I do like the ‘lots of stuff on a page’ look, but I prefer the clean and simple style really!

    PS I don’t think it was your fault S365 folded, by the way… 😉

Leave a Reply

