Busting some old stash

Standard

It’s been a week and a half since Mother’s Day and the flowers Puddle Duck bought for me are still going strong:

DSC_0257

She also got me breakfast in bed and made me two cards (at school and Guides) and a scrapbook page, using a sheet of pp from a pad I had on my table:

DSC_0254

After lunch I had to take her into Wolverhampton so that she could buy my present – a Daenerys Targarean Pop Funko.  She insisted on using her own pocket money and wanted to pay for the carpark too.  What a sweetie!

I’ve had that pad of Amy Tangerine papers for over a year and then suddenly I’m using it a lot.  I made this page for my Mom and framed it in a box frame I bought from The Range.

DSC_0253She’s been sorting out her old black and white snap shots and this group are just too precious to put back in the case unremarked.  Puddle Duck is off to school camp next term, so I may have some photos from her to scrap.

But that’s not what inspired me to get the pad out and start using it after all this time.  It was pulling out a paper with a map of the US to include in February’s Counterfeit Kit.  I had the perfect photo from a work trip to Denver.  The page wasn’t quite what I had in mind originally and I used papers and vellum from my main stash rather than just the kit but I think it turned out nice in the end.

DSC_0255Looking at it on screen I’m thinking maybe it could do with a little ink splatter.  What do you think?

I had a few other photos from the trip and rather than do another 12 X 12 page I decided on two 12X6 pages to bridge the page with this one I made last year:

DSC_0020

Bridging between a white based page with a cream based page was a challenge and this is what I came up with:

The base paper is from the Amy Tangerine pad so is a perfect match to the cream on the RHS,  while the paper chain figures mirror the LHS. And I just had to use my new embossed leaf punch to pull the colours in from the two pages.

DSC_0258

Then turn the half page……………..

DSC_0259

This time I’ve taken the cloud motif and the blue colour from the RHS onto the half page. And the photos were taken the same day as the group shot, in the beer garden in the top photo on the LH page.  The paper is from February’s Counterfeit kit and is half way between the white on the left and the cream on the right.

Since I’ve had that pad for over a year I think that counts as old stash so I’m linking up with the challenge to use old stash at the Studio Challenge site and I hope I’ve used enough blue to be included in the Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge to use blue in your LO.

8 responses »

  1. Lovely layouts. Love the use of the map and the plane embellishments. Thank you for sharing at AFSC and those flowers are beautiful and it is always great to use our stash. All the layouts are lovely
    Mary

  2. Great layouts! Each wonderful and unique. But, the school camp is my absolute favorite. I love the photos, colors and composition. The woodgrain, viewfinder sheet and framed photo with the marvelous vintage vibe are perfect additions to the terrific photographs.

  3. Julie – LOVE having you visit us at Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge – wish you visited more often!!! Love these layouts, but especially loving the team layout with the map – so well-designed. Come visit again soon!

  4. Lovely layouts, I love the school camp page with those old photos and lovely that you framed it for you mum. Thanks so much for playing along with us at The Studio Challenges!

Leave a Reply

