June in the North Atlantic

Standard

So it’s June already. How did that happen?  June’s always a busy month, with two birthdays and fathers day and the end of school term and summer holidays coming up fast.  This year is also Puddle Duck’s confirmation – tomorrow in fact. It’s also the start of the summer photo scavenger hunt (but I’ll leave that for another post).  Summer has seemed a little slow to start here – we’re still having some quite chilly days.  I’ve been compensating with some summery scrapping.

DSC_0515These photos were taken at the Eden Project and I used scraps left from other pages which will be near it in the album.  I used the sketch by Shimelle from the Counterfeit Kit Challenge Blog International Scrapbook Day challenge.

DSC_0514And then there’s the scraplift from Amanda King’s scraplift challenge.  The original has a stitched circle, but I decided to use a background paper with  a circle from my February Counterfeit Kit, with the scraps left from that kit.  I lifted the embellishment – replacing the brads with yellow buttons topped by red butterflies and a single yellow bottle top topped with a larger red butterfly.  Such a co-incidence, since Daphne has challenged us to use yellow this month, with her gorgeously bright page.

Amanda was kind enough to choose my LO as her winner for May and I will be her guest designer for the scraplift in July.  So excited to see what she chooses to scrap lift next month.  And now I can give you a sneak peak of the kit I will probably be using – my June Counterfeit Kit.

DSC_0512

This month’s challenge was to base the kit on one of Basic Grey’s new collections.  I picked South Pacific, since I recently bought some My Mind’s Eye Now and Then paper packs, which included a lovely map print.  From left to right the pears are:

MME Now and Then:

Izzy ‘Smile’ Bloom paper,

Izzy ‘Boys’ Dapper paper,

Mildred ‘Girls’ Garden Paper,

Mildred ‘Hello’ Framed paper,

Izzy ‘Happenings’ Frolic paper,

Izzy ‘Good Times’ Journey paper,

Maggie Holmes,

Teresa Collins,

DSC_0513The floral prints have pink and green polka dots on the reverse.  I added some Mildred and Izzy stickers, die cuts and 3X4 cards for embellishments.  It looks bit more North Atlantic than South Pacific, but it’ll do for me and I’m itching to get started on my first page.

11 responses »

  1. It’s the glorious colours of the top one which holds my eye longest; the pinks and greens in both work very nicely together.

  2. A pretty cute kit 🙂 I’m doing the hunt too 🙂 Looks like a fun list this year to work with 🙂

  3. I’ve never been to Eden but always love the photos I see of it – your two layouts are really great. I love that background paper on the second one. I ought to try to find it.

    Your kit is a lot of fun and who can resist map papers? not me for sure!

  4. Love the first page, I can see the Shimelle influence there. Also the page for my challenge is great. Thanks for playing along. Very clever to use the circle that’s already on the paper. Do you know, I made a page with exactly the same title from our second visit to the Eden Project. Aren’t those domes amazing?

  5. Pingback: CKC July Kit Blog Hop | Letting the Days Roll By.......

Leave a Reply

