CKC July Kit Blog Hop

Standard

I was so delighted to receive an e-mail asking me to be the July Guest Designer for the Counterfeit Kit Challenge. This month we are Counterfeiting the Scrapabilly March 2015 Kit, which you can view on the CKC blog or via the link.

It’s full of aqua, black, neutrals, frames and weathered wood. My version has a little more colour to it, although I have tried the stick as closely as possible to the original papers.

DSC_0552

And here’s a closer look at the 12 X 12 papers:

DSC_0551

The papers are, from left to right, top row first:-

Kaiser Craft, Base Coat Collection, Distressed

Me and My Big Ideas, Mambi Sheets

MME, Now and Then,  Milo ‘Friends’, Fallow

Dear Lizzy, 5th & Frolic

Pebbles, Homemade

Pebbles, From Me to You

Crate Paper, DIY Shop

Dear Lizzy, Polka Dot Party

Maggie Holmes

Dear Lizzy Neapolitan

MME, Now and Then, Milo ‘Inspired’ Trees

It all looks a little washed out and calm so I think I’ll call it Driftwood.  I stuck quite closely to the papers in the original kit, there were some I couldn’t match but I’ve made up for that in my add on kit, which I made up using things I thought would work but aren’t a direct match to anything in the Scrapabilly kit.

DSC_0553

The papers are:-

Me and My Big Ideas, Mambi Sheets

Studio Calico, Wanderlust

Crate Paper, DIY Shop

Maggie Holmes (this is a great neutral background sheet with big rosettes)

Pebbles, Homemade

Studio Calico, Wanderlust

Amy Tangerine, Sketchbook

Maggie Holmes

Dear Lizzy, 5th & Frolic

Alphas are; Basic Grey, Marjolaine

I sometimes find that I run out of background papers and have to pull in some extra sheets to finish the kit – I’m totally off plain card stock as a background these days.  Hopefully the add on will guard against that happening this month.  The original kit looks as though it would suit vintage and mixed media scrapping which is far from my style, so I hope I’ve pulled in enough here to create a kit I can make work for me.

I had these scraps left from previous kits (the frames are the other side of the stripes from June’s kit). I will probably do some fussy cutting to make some embellishments. I also have some wooden frames to throw in, which I forgot to photograph.

DSC_0554

And these 6X4 cards are from Dear Lizzie 5th & Dime, plus a piece of woodgrain from a previous kit, which will be part of my forgeries.  Visit the CKC blog on 4th July to see what the Master Forgers have made.  I have some ideas and hope to get mine posted around the same time.

DSC_0555Your next stop on the blog hop is Lisa – I’m sure she’ll have an amazing kit to show you.  In case you get lost along the way here’s the full running order for the blog hop.

Happy Hopping.

 

15 responses »

  1. So happy to have you on board this month Julie! I just know that you will be an awesome GD and do us proud. And the kit you’ve created is a great start to that – just gorgeous. The papers are such a good match, I was convinced that some of them must be the same as the original! Fabulous colours and I like that you’ve made it your won through the embellishments you’ve added in 🙂

    It’s going to be a good month!

  2. You are so good at the counterfeiting Julie – a worthy Guest Forger!
    Great match of papers, fab hints of colour and some wonderful cards. I know you’ll make some quirky and interesting pages with this super kit!

  3. Such a pretty kit, I have a hard time using the wood paper so it looks like this might be the month to add some to my kit. Looking forward to seeing your projects.

  4. Total counterfeit perfection! You nailed not just the details but the vibe of the inspiration. Driftwood is the perfect name, btw 🙂 Love your style so it will be fun to have you in the spotlight this month, especially if this is a little outside your normal – scrap on!

  5. Very nice kit!! I will seriously be referring back to this when creating my kit. You did such a fabulous job that I did a double take mistaking it for the original at first glance.

  6. I like the way you kept close to the original with your paper choices and then added color with the embellishments. You put together a beautiful kit – I’m looking forward to getting to know you more and seeing your layouts this month!

  7. Well, that really is a lovely kit, very much in keeping with the inspiration kit. Scrap on! It is so fun to have you guest designing this month.

  8. So many awesome elements here…the weathered paper and frames are perfect additions. Your title “Driftwood” is perfect! Enjoy the ride this month as our guest designer!

  9. Pingback: Forgeries on the Fourth | Letting the Days Roll By.......

  10. Very pretty kit 🙂 So glad to see a larger picture of the kit on your blog it does help with the older eyes 🙂 Looks like you have been having lots of fun with the kit so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

