Working with White (or not!)

Standard

I decided to try the latest Glitter Girl challenge to use just one sheet of white card stock and a pack of nearly used 6X6 paper.  I had an old school photo, a part used pad of Echo Park’s Back to School papers and inspiration from Pinterest (is that Pinspiration?).  The challenge was precipitated by a request for help from scrappers with limited stash, so I decided that the buttons in the inspiration page were fair game to use, since every house has a button tin right? (or is that just me?).  I also used some paperclips and staples to add a bit more interest; since these are everyday stationery items I don’t consider that to be cheating either.

DSC_1062

I’m not too enamoured with the end result.  I think the high proportion of browns in the papers fit with the data of the photo, but the white back ground is a little too stark.  I am thinking about lifting the three groupings and transferring them onto another background.  Or maybe i should just add some ink splatters.

I had more success using up some of my old Basic Grey papers.  I love this collection so much I took the opportunity to grab some extra sheets when a friend destashed a while ago.

DSC_1067

The journalling was inspired by a challenge on Soul Scrappers to use Joni Mitchell’s song Big Yellow Taxi as inspiration for a page.  There’s a nice shot of green in this page so I will be linking up to Another Freaking Scrappy Challenge, where this month’s challenge is to scrap with green.

I’m on a bit of a roll at the moment and I have three more pages to share with you later this week.

4 responses »

  1. Yay for being on a roll. I immediately thought that the paper of the first one seemed to fit the photo, but I will admit liking brown better when paired with pink. Both great pages!

Leave a Reply

