Keeping up and Starting Early with Books

Standard

Shimelle and Glitter Girl are generating 2 challenges a week at the moment and in an attempt to keep up I have combined two in one – use numbers and multiple photos.  That starship and Wonder Boy’s first birthday in Glitter Girl’s page inspired this page of my nephew’s first birthday party:

DSC_0031

That chipboard rocket and most of the papers are from My Mind’s Eye’s Boy Crazy collection.  I really wanted to use that bright yellow paper as the background and include the plaid pattern on it’s reverse to pick up on The Uncle’s shirt, but I only had one sheet.  Glitter Girl to the rescue with that wonderful technique to cut a full width strip of the pattern and then cut and trim the background and mount all three pieces on a full 12 X 12 sheet (you can see it all explained properly in the video here).

The red background with pink spots is from Maggie Holmes, the numbers are from Shimelle’s first collection and the tag and flags are Crate Paper’s Birthday collection.  I went with a column of smaller photos and a number countdown to balance the vertical of the rocket on the right.

This week Shimelle challenged us to include a book in our scrapbook.  I used two in this LO (although I don’t think this is quite what she had in mind) – as borders either side of the photos:

DSC_0029

I used Dear Lizzy Fifth and Frolic papers because the cut apart sheets include some library card elements and that pink picks up the pink in Puddle Duck’s clothes.  The two books are cut from a sheet from Crate Paper’s Grandma’s Shop collection.  I think the page needs a little more embellishment, but I’m not sure what just yet.

Puddle Duck has always liked books and she had her own little book corner when she was a baby.  I have so many photos of her with books I had to make another LO.  This one uses Shimelle’s first collection and more Fifth and Frolic:

DSC_0030

It’s hard to see in the photo but the pink frame to the left of the photo is stamped with due dates like a library book.  They’d already abandoned stamping books and gone over to an electronic system by the time Puddle Duck joined the library, but most of the books still had the old stamped slips inside.

I’ve got another couple of  book LOs to do – see you soon.

Oh, and for those who expressed an interest in the Alice cut apart sheet and cut-out dressing dolls in my last post – it’s from Marion Smith’s Mad Tea Party Collection.

 

5 responses »

  1. They are all lovely pages Julie. I particularly like the soft colours in the last one. Shimelle’s book challenge has me stumped at the moment, but I hope to do it eventually.

  2. I love to see photos of little ones reading! You’ve given her such a splendid head start … I like your little clip boards either side. But that final photo has the most wonderful light and shade.

Leave a Reply

