One Kit and Three Pages in One Weekend

Standard

And some random fandom….

It’s not very often I have a day out at the weekend AND manage to get some scrapping done, but this weekend I managed it.  Mind you, there was absolutely no housework or gardening done and cooking was kept to a minimum.

We went to Manchester on Saturday to Comicon.  Puddle Duck wanted to see Jellie Bee – her second favourite You Tuber.  Jellie was so touched that she’d traveled all that way to see her and saved her pocket money to buy her sketch book on Kick Starter, that she did her a special speed sketch of her favourite Steven Universe character as a thank-you.

The rest of the weekend was spent with me scrapping and Puddle Duck drawing while we watched The Big Bang Theory on Netflix. I got three pages done – I put it down to the speed technique I tried for the first time last year – working on three pages at once using the same set of supplies.  It cuts down on the length of time sorting through papers and embellishments and dithering over whether to use something now or save it for something else.

I’ll start by satisfying Lesley’s curiosity and show you my page using my bee paper:

DSC_0246

This happened at the start of July, so the timing couldn’t have been better with that bee paper in July’s Counterfeit kit.  I wasn’t at home when the bees swarmed.  The Grandma and The Grandad couldn’t get onto the drive when they arrived to collect Puddle Duck after school.  By the time I got home that evening it was too dark to see properly but this large nest is what I found the next morning – in the tree at the bottom of the drive.  I phoned the British Bee Keepers Association and they were gone by lunchtime.

My next page is perhaps an odd choice of subject for a summer kit – Puddle Duck’s school Christmas Party from 2011!

DSC_0247

I used a couple of chipboard pieces from June’s kit.  I’m thinking I need some embellishment below the title – to bring that teal/green down to the bottom, but I’m not sure the best way to do it.  So I’m calling it done for now and I reserve the right to revisit it if inspiration strikes.

For my third and final LO I had a photo from shortly after Puddle Duck’s second birthday, when we went to the Lake District.  And you can’t possibly go to the Lake District without visiting The World of Beatrix Potter. I’m not sure she was supposed to go into the exhibit, but a photo with Missy Tiggy Winkle was too good to miss!

I had my papers picked out when I went to bed on Saturday night and awoke to find a Shimelle sketch challenge on her blog on Sunday morning.  It certainly saved me a lot of thinking time.

DSC_0248

I fussy cut flowers and clouds from papers in my kit for the scattered embellishments. I’m not sure about writing directly onto such busy patterned paper – it makes the journalling hard to read.  And I’m not sure how best to fix the title – it was only writing this blog that I realised the I got the name of the museum wrong.

Oh well, back to the drawing board!!!

5 responses »

  1. A great trio of pages Julie. I wouldn’t worry about fixing the mistake, it’ so minor. Have you got a scrap of the cloud paper left from the second page? If so, you could tuck it in below the title to bring the teal colour in there.

  2. These are great pages! (Just popped over from Shimelle’s link up as I used the sketch for inspiration, too.)

    My hubby would be jealous that y’all went to Comicon! 🙂 How awesome that Puddle Duck got a special speed sketch!

    What about a little strip of teal washi tape under/near the title to bring that color down? It looks great as is, but just a thought. I agree about the journaling on the patterned paper; it is more difficult to read at times.

  3. Pingback: Krafty Florals | Letting the Days Roll By.......

  4. I’ve now seen several takes on that sketch and they’ve all been so different. Didn’t know Beatrix Potter world was a place either. Yeah for getting to ComicCon and meeting people.

Leave a Reply

